Oᑌᖇ ᗷIG ᖴᗩT GᖇEEK ᗯEᗪᗪIᑎG

First Image (1).png

I am going to tackle the first question with the @ladiesofhive writing challenge this week.

1️⃣ Have you been fortunate to experience a holiday
from a religion or culture different than your own?
If so, tell us about it! If not, which would you choose to experience?

HEART DIVIDER.png

I have experienced a little bit of Greek culture thanks to my sister-in-law who is Greek. I can't really share pictures of her and the celebrations because she is not comfortable but I can share the experience.

Ͳհҽ చҽժժìղց

My brother and SIL had a very private exchange of vows at sunset on a small yacht with immediate family as it was tough to plan with work as well as family and friends from two different countries.

The registration was done here, in his country and he planned a little something-something for her which included some plate breaking. So when we got back home after the registration, we brought out the plates (bought at Ikea) and all of us took turns wishing them well as we threw the plates on the floor.

Oh boy, was it loud hitting the tiles. We live in a highrise and the balcony garden where we were doing this for easy clean up after, can be seen by every unit above us (our floor is the only one with a balcony garden). The commotion had neighbours looking out their windows and we had to tell them we weren't fighting and it was just custom.

Ͳհҽ ហҽա Ӌҽąɾ

The second time I experienced a little Greek custom was that New Year when we celebrated in their home in Dubai. Families from both sides were there to celebrate their first Christmas and New Year's with them.

Both families brought a little bit of our culture into the celebrations. Her mother baked a cake and there was a coin in it. When it was time, and all of us took a slice, we were told to be careful not to swallow the coin. However, we were hoping for the coin to be in our slice as it would mean good luck all year. I can't quite remember who amongst us got the coin, but it wasn't me haha.

HEART DIVIDER.png

My daughter has been lucky enough to visit Greece and my SIL's family and hometown. I, however, have yet to but maybe someday soon and then I will experience a whole lot more.

Please come join in the challenge and share your stories. You can find out more HERE

THANKYOU.PNG

Image edited on canva with photos from pexels

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
58 Comments
Ecency