A Favourite From A Long Time Ago || The Land of Far-Beyond by Enid Blyton

I came across a question on this week's @ladiesofhive's writing challenge:

"What is one of your favourite stories? It can be a book you enjoy,
or perhaps a story you were told or read as a child."

And immediately this book flashed in my head with bright neon lights.

the land of far beyond.jpeg
I was an avid reader as a child and devoured books. At the expanse of sounding like a geek, the library was like a playground to me. I read tonnes of Enid Blyton but there's one book that really affected me and I loved it to bits, The Land of Far Beyond.

The book is loosely based on The Pilgrim's Journey by John Bunyan and is a Christian tale. Even though it is meant for young readers, it is so good, I would recommend it for any age (especially if you like simple reads) because you will enjoy it.

When my daughter started reading, I so badly wanted her to read this book but it was next to impossible to find. I even asked my friends, most of whom had read Enid Blyton themselves as kids, but not many knew of this book. I googled and found one (first print if not mistaken) on sale, but it was quite expensive.

Fast forward to last year, when I started a YouTube channel for fun and as I searched for the first book to read, guess what?! I found The Land of Far Beyond which had just entered the Public Domain. I was excited, to say the least, and it justified all my ravings to my friends, it was as good as I remembered it to be ...

The story centres around siblings, Peter, Anna and Patience who live in the City of Turmoil. They, along with some friends spend their days causing mischief instead of going to school. They ring doorbells then hide, are mean to animals, steal fruits and find joy in causing trouble. The grown-ups in the town are no better.

One day, the children meet a man called Wanderer, who is clean and beautiful unlike them. Curious and in awe the children and some grown-ups gather around him. They are surprised to hear him lament his decision to pass through as he claimed the city was filled with people with burdens in their hearts. When the crowd scoffed at him in disbelief, he proves it by making their sins grow on their backs. He then tells them there is only one man who can help them get rid of their heavy burdens, and they will find him in the City of Happiness.

So the group of 5 kids and 5 adults start their journey through tough and rough terrains - mountains and rivers, forests and floods. They meet all kinds of characters that represent the good, bad and ugly of humans and life. Some try to help whilst others distract and divert them from their path. As the journey gets more and more challenging, the group starts getting smaller and smaller as some of them give in to their fears and doubts. Ten started and only three make it through to the end and walk through the gates.

Even though it is meant to be a Christian tale, I did not feel the religious elements forced upon me. I learnt the virtues of being good and kind, brave and generous in an enjoyable and clever way. I understood how certain impulses only served self and they ultimately end with negative consequences.

It's just a shame that my girl was way past Enid Blyton by the time I came upon it but perhaps someday, I'd read it to my grandkids (or they can watch the Youtube videos haha). I really loved this story and read it so many times, I have lost count. And to think I read it again just last year.

Have you read this book? Were you wowed by it like me? And if you haven't, and you want to, you can find it on the Gutenberg Project

If you would like to take part in this writing challenge, click HERE

Thank you for reading,
Till next time, Carpe Diem!
Sh33la

Image Source - if you click on this, it will take you to where you can purchase this rare collectable ;D

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
21 Comments
Ecency