COLD CAUSE I LET GO? || LOH #120

Do you have a virtue that people may consider a defect? Tell us about that virtue!

As soon as I saw the topics for the contest, I was immediately elated because I knew what I’d be talking about. It’s something that has, without a doubt, puzzled me immensely. I’ve always thought it was an admirable virtue to let go of things. To push things behind me and continue with my life, not because I wasn’t affected, but because I knew there was no need to hold onto things.


Source

It was surprising however to see that people didn’t think of it like that. I kept hearing criticisms like:
“You’re so cold.”
“Stop acting like you’re better than other people.”
Or like in a shocking situation where a guy who I was in a relationship of sorts with said that he was done with me and I said “Oh...... Fine.”

He was livid.

He was like you don’t want to know why. Won’t you like to ask for another chance or something? How can you be so “unfeeling.”

I was really confused cause in the first place I was the one he was ending things with yet I was the unfeeling one. And second, his actions clearly hurt me. But I had immediately reasoned that he was a full-grown adult. And he must have had serious reasons why he was ending things. So why was I being expected to grovel?



I’m the kind of person that doesn’t really notice the little things I’m expected to notice. And with how busy my schedule has been of late, it’s almost impossible to keep track of a lot of things. So when I go over to Whatsapp and see messages like:
“I didn’t even reply to your message, and you didn’t even bother to ask why.” Or “Tess did you know I had blocked you? I bet you didn’t even notice. Why do you always act like you don’t care about anything?”
It's in fact quite bewildering.


Source

I don’t know if I’m wrong but to the first person, I’d said that things are hard for people. And I know that everyone is trying their best to keep their life in order. So it would be rather insensitive of me to start feeling entitled when I don’t know what that person is going through.

And to the second, I couldn’t even hide my amusement. So I am blocked by you and I am expected to start running around like a demented hen? Yes, I didn’t notice, but then I should start condemning myself because of that? What kind of entitlement pill are people on these days anyway?😂

In the grand scheme of things though, maybe I should start just worrying about the little things. Blowing up a person’s phone with texts and calls if the person doesn’t answer my messages. I remember doing something like that to a person once in a bid to show that I was invested and I cared. Not that bad, but something vaguely similar. And I was labelled as “suffocating.”

Humans. Can never please them can you?

I just hope people can be a little understanding. And not make presumptions about people’s actions when they haven’t taken time to clearly understand said people.

Whew!😅

That was a lot.

Thank you to the Ladies of Hive as always for giving us a chance like this to vent our emotions and grievances. It was a really emotional one for me doing this one.

Thanks a lot for reading.❤️

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency