Because I Am a She

"Let someone else do that for you, that's not a girl's job," our friendly neighbor Mister D called out to my attention while I was about to cut some wood for something I was preparing for a DIY project years ago (2018). At that time, we just moved into our new house and wanted to add some personal touches (i.e. corner display shelves etc).




"Well, I can do it too so why not?" I teased back and then went on cutting. He stayed and watched quietly. Maybe he was impressed that he just asked what I was making when he walked by the next day while I was sanding.

At another time, I was mixing cement for the garden when someone spoke behind me, "Where's the man in the house? He should be doing that, not you. Or have you exchanged pants?" That was another neighbor from down the road. "Does it have to be a man's job? Come on, we are in the 21st century!" I said a bit formally. I thought it was not funny even if she meant it as a joke.

Yes, some still do stereotyping (my neighbors at the other house included), even in a place like ours where it is men and women have the same jobs is a norm. Here, men cook, do laundry, clean the house, etc, and are not frowned upon. You wouldn't hear anyone saying "Hey, why are you cooking? That's not a man's job."

Well, maybe I was expecting that in this day and age, it should not be surprising when we (women) do things that were initially known to be done by people with balls.

On another story, seeing women driving cars was uncommon in town until around 7 years ago. And along with it was one awesome thing I considered an advantage of being a woman. I observed that male drivers tend to be courteous with women in the driver's seat. They let us pass first, especially on a single-lane road. I experienced such many times and it certainly makes driving more favorable, considering that most roads here are narrow.


Peter Fazekas


My hubby couldn't stop laughing after one of the most notorious drivers in town moved back to find a safe place to pull over and let me go first when we met on a one-lane road during our visit to my parents. That driver had never done such a thing before so people named him "Walang Atras" because he would not move aside, even when road rules and ethics needed him to do it. Other drivers would just give way to avoid unnecessary nuisances. Miraculously, he let me pass and that's why the Farmboy was so amused.

Perhaps he changed?

I wouldn't say so because last month when we met him, he didn't budge an inch even when he was nearest to the clear side of the road. The husband cursed under his breath as he maneuvered the car backward.

So I must be lucky then? Maybe (or not). We will have to see about that the next time we meet him along the way. But I hoped it wasn't a one-time thing and that man would extend the same courtesy to others no matter who was behind the wheel.

Well, these are just a few instances where I was treated a bit differently because I am a She. It's not that bad and I know things can only get better.

This is how I approached this day's topic about gender on the MayInLeo initiative. I invite you to check it out too.


Lead image by Los Muertos Crew. 22022024/20:55ph

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
66 Comments
Ecency