Can people see me like this? [LOH #188]

I didn't know about the prompt for this week’s Ladies of Hive contest until I read this post by @toryfestus Her post was screaming my name and I thought to come up with a post of my own.

This week’s prompt was given by @merit.ahama.

2️⃣ How do people see you? How do you wish people saw you?

People see me as that innocent and fragile girl that can be broken at any time. I am always seen as one who isn't able to go through pain and make it out alive or the girl who isn’t mature enough to handle pain.

I have also been seen as a daddy's girl, a little girl who doesn't have any atom of challenge or responsibilities of her own and has a father who caters to all her needs but people are wrong, so wrong that I am different from what they think or can ever imagine.

IMG_0220.jpeg

Part of why people label me as "innocent" or a big softie is because of how I look. My pictures may not aptly show you this because I try to strike poses that make me look a little mature. My looks make me look way younger than I am, not that I am old old but sometimes I could pass as a little girl. The one thing I am grateful for is that I am not petite or else it would have been worse😂😂

While being seen as innocent has its perks that I usually enjoy, the disadvantages of it can be heartbreaking. You walk into a room and just because I look all calm and innocent I am seen as the youngest by default and as such people are at liberty to talk to me as they so please because they think I am "small".

IMG_0170.jpeg

Some of my friends see me as a big softie who cannot handle sad news hence they keep it away from me only for me to find out eventually.

People feel I am not experienced at all because they feel I am too young to know or experience what life is, sad huh? Absolutely!

I walk into meetings and people seated feel I do not have anything tangible to say or when people insinuate that I am still a student and so should be treated accordingly.

IMG_0432.jpeg

Prior to this time, I started making hairstyles that made me more mature, I tried makeup and also tried to dress more mature but "little IB" was inevitable to remove from the picture.

It got worse when I started working because everyone was way bigger than me in size and it was okay to see me as that “little girl” that needed protection, that little girl that needed to be handled carefully, and that little girl everyone needed to smile at and not hurt.

The one thing that saved me as time went on was when I spoke. My voice might be a bit soft but I made sure every word that came out from my mouth was meaningful and a bit commanding. I loved the look on people's faces whenever they saw "little IB" do and say things they never believed I could say. I love it when I hear you mean "IB did this" or "IB pulled that off?” It was so satisfying to hear.

IMG_9948.jpeg

While the innocent tag has helped me countless times I wish people could see me as that strong girl who has had her own fair share of life experiences, but came out unscathed.

I wish people could see me as a girl who is fierce, and daring and can make mind-blowing decisions and do things without giving a hoot about what people say.

I wish people could see me not as a daddy’s girl but as someone who has worked her ass out to be where she is today.

I also wish people wouldn't capitalize on my innocent look or underestimate what I am capable of doing as I surprise myself sometimes.

Again I wish people could see me for who I am and not the innocent naive girl they think I am

All images are mine except otherwise stated.

Thanks for stopping by
*Loads of Love🥰🥰+
XOXO

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
31 Comments
Ecency