Fond memories of my childhood. Ladies of Hive Contest #46

I recently stumbled upon ladies of hive communities and decided to join the contest. Thank you @melinda010100 for this interesting question that takes us back to a fond memory.

The first question I’ll be answering is
|what was the best thing about the place where you grew up

You see the thing is I grew up in 2 neighborhood. We moved around a lot and I’m going to tell you about a fond memory I cherish of the first place I grew up in.
I grew up in a big city in Nigeria, Lagos is known by all. If you are visiting Nigeria or haven’t visited the first place people recommend to you is lagos. I love my city because it never sleeps, there’s always something happening or something to celebrate, the people here are always on the move. Lagos is filled with so much energy, and I grew up around it. Let me take you to the town I grew up in, my family once lived in ijesha surulere.

D225EFE4-5478-4A02-A6ED-F4D13321E46A.jpeg

source

Ijesha is always a bubbling city, we find a reason to celebrate everything and in the neighborhood we live we like celebration. My fondest memory was of one where Nigeria played in an international match and we won, my whole neighborhood came to life, I remember as a kid running around the compound with my friend we were hitting empty bucket. The older boys were summersaulting, the celebration was so contagious that adults had to throw an unplanned party that night because we the youth were in a celebratory mood. Food, drinks, music was in high demand. Everyone came out of their building brought chairs just to eat out and enjoy, it was an impromptu carnival that I can never forget. I remember pertaking in a dancing competition and winning stick sweet with 10naira coin. I loved my niegborhood and I love my city, I find myself moving to a place in Lagos where I can have that community feel. It’s crazy how our childhood plays a huge role to the person we become.

Another question I’ll love to answer is
|what are your three favorite scent or smell

The first for me would be my mum. Let me give you the backstory, it started when I came of age to realize my mum actually work that’s why when I come back from school I don’t see her lol. I’m always the one to clean up her room because she rewards me with coconut flakes and hugs and let me tell you it was our little secret because I didn’t want any of my siblings recieving half of my coconut flakes. I spend most time in my mum room arranging and rearranging stuffs 😂😂. I lay on her bed a lot and when I miss her I sniff her pillow(don’t judge me) her scent is always on it and I love to lay and read on her bed. As I grew older I got used to the scent as a means of comfort, if I’m scared or going through a tough time I inhale and imagine her scent and i feel better. I can smell my mum even before she enters the room lol.

BBC1C34B-0B9F-4AEF-8F64-6EF0159D2431.jpeg

My second best is the smell of paper novel. I don’t know how to explain this but if you’re a lover of books then you know what I’m talking about. The scent of new adventures, new story line and new character to read is just exciting. It gives me this feeling of entering another place.

FCDB7432-1DAC-4660-B7C0-A0FC30FE183B.jpeg

source

My third smell is the scent of my dog Lucy. Lucy has been with me for 9month she would have been second lol but her annoying ass sometimes makes me wonder if I really like this girl. But I do, I hate being away from her, we always have a lot to do and talk about(I talk, she listens or walk away lol) Lucy loves cuddles most of my pjs still have fur on them lol but I love our cuddles. I screctly wish I don’t have to leave my bed sometimes it’s just me and my baby sleeping. She hates when I have to leave and disrupt her sleep. I love smelling Lucy and love kissing her when we spend time together.

48C58C21-D087-4C39-879B-97E9761E3403.jpeg

Thank you Lady Of Hive for this question, it definitely made me appreciate the things I value the most. I’d like to invite @interiorbylucia to join this wonderful platform and participate in the challenge.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
16 Comments
Ecency