LOH #84:MY POSITION IN MY FAMILY

pexels-photo-4262424.jpeg
source
23t7DKQuALbhqdexpBRY69B2dT8eCrsRq6M1c2k7DY2m7TC42bKLBDAKJbxWYHeGy4HRU.jpg

Hello Hivers, it's been a good day today, so I would hop on the weekly contest proposed by @ladiesofhive. Question 1 as given by @justclickindiva catches my attention which states that:

1️⃣ What was your position (in terms of birth) in the family? How did that experience help you become, or hinder you from becoming, a successful adult?

First of all, I happen to be the first child of my parents. A nuclear family with a Christian background and the journey has been a good one not entirely though, but the hitches I get are what makes me a better person as time goes on.

Especially in my country Nigeria, being a first child comes with great responsibilities. I mean the society has stereotyped first born of the family to be in line to take responsibilities meant for father and mother.

But what I have come to realise is that, civilization and the level of education of both parents matters in the situation.

For instance, an educated and well to do family will not consider placing the burden of siblings on the first child. For example, everychild is educated, provided for and well taken care of because the parents are not idle workers and are not defined by archaic societal views.

However, it is also common in some areas where, once the first child has been provided for, all responsibility falls on him or her.

I had a friend whose family was struggling with financial stability. The parents were farmers, who worked hard day and night and still had nothing to show for it and they had seven children (can you imagine).

But in all, they tried so hard to send the first child (a male) to get educated, so he can assist his other siblings.

The burden was so heavy when he got a job, he didn't even have enough to cater for his personal needs. It was calls here and there from siblings asking for school fees and upkeep money. At a point he suffered breakdown but it was his "supposed cross" and he had to carry it.

My experience being the first child of my family and a female for that matter has not in anyway hindered me from being successful. I have very supportive and understanding parents and that's all that matters. Not like other parents who compare their wards to other people's children who are ignorant of their sources of money or income. My siblings are independent individuals that are hardworking in their own way. They request for assistance from me at times, and I try my best to be the big sister for them in terms of financial assistance, advices both career and emotional and in other various ways.

Being the first child has opened me to so many opportunities and through me I have been a blessing to my younger ones.

Thus, I would like to leave a word of advice to 21st century parents and upcoming parents to not leave responsibilities to a part of the family and ignore the others. What a boy child can achieve, a girl child can also achieve. If we notice in most competitions these days, boys are really taking the trophy in terms of cooking competition, singing competitions, fashion designing and so on.

Don't say it's a male's duty to provide while it's the female's duty to housekeeper.

I would like to invite @jmis101.

Thank you for reading my blog, ❤️

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
14 Comments
Ecency