Ladies of hive contest #60: holiday experience

@Ladiesofhive weekly question:

Have you been fortunate to experience a holiday
from a religion or culture different than your own?
If so, tell us about it! If not, which would you choose to experience?

The beauty of the world lies in the diversity of its people.
Unknown

I have never been able to experience a holiday from my own culture and religion. Because I have never been fortunate enough to do so. But if I’m to decide today to experience a holiday of other religion and culture that will be the HOLI festival, it is a holiday festival celebrated in India I’m a Nigerian.

As a Nigerian the only holiday other from my religion is SALAH, I have only known it to be a holiday but I have not been fortunate enough to celebrate it or take part in the celebration.

image.jpeg source

I don’t know anything about the Indian holidays and festivities but watching movies the only thing I remember is them celebrating the holi festivals.

HOLI

This is a festival of colors and of love, everyone religion in India celebrates it. It can be celebrated differently in different states, because it is a festival to meet different people, friends and you laugh, dance and play together.

image.jpeg source

why HOLI

I watch Indian movies a lot before I started working and I admired the way they enjoy the HOLI festival. They dance and play with colors they use the colors to rub on each other and I enjoy that a lot.

image.jpeg source

I would love to experience this wonderful festival, because in my country Nigeria we don’t celebrate festival like this and we don’t have much celebrations too.

Looking at the way the Indians celebrate with extended families coming together and also friends coming over baring gifts, and sweets it really made me fall I love with this holiday celebration. I have only seen this in movies, I don’t know how it’s been celebrated I’m reality but I’m hoping it will be same as seen in movies.

image.jpegsource

I wish I too can be covered in colors, and I enjoy watching them chase each other while trying to rub the colors on each other. It does not discriminate even little children take part in the celebration.

image.jpeg source

Holi is the holiday I will want to experience other from holiday of culture and religion.

Thank you for reading my blog.
A big thank you to @ladiesofhive for bringing up this contest, I invite @sreypov to participate in the ladies of hive contest

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
25 Comments
Ecency