LOH #143 Holidays

It's been a while, but it had to happen again. The Ladies of Hive contest is something I keep coming back to. So are you ready?

2️⃣ Do you love to travel? Where was your last family vacation? Share a picture story with at least 5 photos in which you must be present in at least one of the photos.

Yes, i love to travel, but in the last decade, I wasn't able to enjoy some traveling.

Going on holiday with my family, we didn't do that at home. When my sis and I grow older, we did go on holidays together. Sometimes with few friends also. With my sis, I went on a holiday to France, Port Grimaud. We booked our holiday with Tent-o-tel. This is a campsite with a tent that is ready and waiting there, you only have to pack your suitcase and just bring some clothes.

What I can remember so vividly is that we went all the way from Holland to France in a tour bus. And oh boy, did we have fun along the way, especially with the drivers, Maddy and Henk. Maddy was a very small woman, but she stood her ground. Not only was she small, she also had that very high squeaky voice, Henk was a big guy with a very heavy bass voice. It was a very nice duo together, and they drove us very safely to France on the double-decker bus. At the campsite, the field with the tents of the organization turned out to be at the back of the campsite and we had to cross a bridge. Maddy was behind the wheel and Henk guided her over the bridge, she had about 2 centimeters of play left on both sides, but she did it!! 💖

When our holidays were over, and the bus had to come and pick us all up to go home again we had two other drivers. Two men, Fred and Fred. It was so funny to notice that they didn't dare to drive over the bridge. And they drove with a normal travel bus, not even a double-decker. We really fooled them a lot with that, a woman drove a double-decker over the small bridge and you guys can´t do that? Wimps! 😁 They also drove wrong, we ended up in the suburbs of Paris, while we didn't have to be there at all!!

Anyway, long story short, we came back safe and sound to the place where we also got on, in Den Bosch.

After that I went with my sister a few times to Spain, but each time a different place in Spain, and we got to see Brixen Im Tale in Austria in between.

And later in 2007 I went alone on an excursion tour through Norway, which was (until now) my last holiday, in the year that my mother passed away. She passed away in April and I went on vacation in August, I was able to tell her and she also said that I had to go anyway, no matter what! So I went. It was with a heavy heart, and luckily my sister took care of Micky when I was away. When I left from home it was a bit frightening to go alone, but I still am so glad that I found the courage to go. I found a lot of support from the tour group. Because I had some very difficult moments during the journey. In the tour group was a psychiatrist who had retired and he comforted and helped me. For example, he said to me; girl, remember well, tears are the way to the soul, and through our eyes, those who are dear to us and have passed away, look with us. So if you cry you wash their window clean!! !!! 😢😢

And despite the difficult moments, it was a lovely trip, what a beautiful country Norway is and the residents I met were all equally friendly without exception.


The black dotted line indicates where we have been in Norway. Our travel schedule.


Our comfortable coach.


View of Oslo and Oslo harbor


Vikingskipet in Hamar


The tour group at the hotel in Hamar, ready for dinner.


At the glacier, and yes, the snow is real and cold, 😊 Jostedalsbreen glacier, the largest glacier in continental Europe.


Here I am standing at one of the "arms" of the latefoss waterfall.

And i can post many more beautiful pictures of Norway, but that´s for another blog. And besides that, I really believe that you will have to visit this country yourself to believe that that land is so beautiful and peaceful.

Thank you for reading, and let me know if you love traveling too!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency