LOH #63 - “Detachment Is Not That You Own Nothing, Detachment Is That Nothing Owns You”.

img_7687.jpg

Would you trade 10 years of life for wealth and fame?

This question reminds me of a ritual practice that people still do in my country (or even in the whole world). Its a practice to sell your soul to the devil to gain wealth and fame. There is many way to do the exchange, we can exchange it with another people’s life or exchange it with our own life. Its all depend on what the type of ritual that they do. Now since its related to the main topic of our discussion today, i will talk about the later. I heard that there is many people that exchange their lifespan to gain some wealth. Does it look tempting? Not for me. There is nothing good can come with making a deal with the satan.

Since my early years, thankfully I understand the dark side of wealth and fame thanks to my reading hobby. I got exposed to a lot of real world scenarios through books. I try to take a lesson from that and decide what can i do and what cant i do in this short life of mine. So, i kind of understand what is the real importance in our life.

There is a video of my favorite motivational speaker that I remembered very clearly because what he said resonate deep into my heart and mind. Its , “There is a beautiful verse in the Bhagavad Gita that says that detachment is not that you own nothing, detachment is that nothing owns you”. I was shocked and touched when i first heard that. Like he said, usually people explained detachment as being away from everything and have a simple life. But the greatest detachment is being close to everything yet not letting them consume and owns you. The goal is to have a controlled mind. We should be aware of ourselves and have the highest power to direct our life in a better path. For me, trade a wealth and fame for 10 years of my life is not being in control of my mind. Thus k like beautiful and luxury thing, i appreciate the beautiful of life God gave to me more.

I invite @sweetest to this beautiful community.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency