Ladies of Hive Community Contest #54 - I Can't Imagine Life Without You

1️⃣ What is the most important thing that you ALWAYS carry with you, and why?

This is a no-brainer😜. Since the existence of the COVID-19 virus, obviously, hand sanitizers, masks (spares) and wet wipes are the most important things that we should ALWAYS carry with us. However, after a few minutes, I realised that as we become more accustomed and live alongside the COVID-19 viruses, I sometimes, forgot to bring my wet wipes along with me as they can be bulky and requires quite some space in the bag. Plus, it is not conveniently hand-carried or not all packagings are pocket-sized. We only wear a mask and sometimes even reuse them (though it is wrong and not encouraged ). As for hand sanitizers, yes, but if I knew I was entering a place shortly and they provide hand sanitizers, then I will not bring mine along. (stingy much!😝😂).

Then I realised, well, well, well, this is not so straightforward now. Giving it more thought, light bulb💡 - a smile😊. Yes, this is something I always try to carry with me and it is truly important as it spreads joy and makes one more approachable. However, this is only very true during my younger years. It was relatively easier to smile every day when you don't have stress from work, commitments, relationships, etc. As I get older, it is important, but I don't necessarily carry it with me always.

Hence, what is the ONE thing that is always with me, 24/7, constantly, without fail.

MY MOBILE PHONE

Really mom?🙄Can I go now? That cutesy doggo looks nothing like me......



Working via my mobile phone on the way out for lunch.


Destressing myself during working hours by going through some social media sites via my mobile phone.

The only time I've ever parted with my phone is when I go diving (as the phone will not be able to take the pressure). When I reflect back, it is almost ridiculous how attached I am to my phone. With the COVID-19 situation, this attachment is being enforced further as every single time we enter a shop, petrol station, office, etc. we need to register our entry by scanning the QR code with our mobile phone. This reinforces the need to constantly carry your mobile phone with you. However, at some places, they prepare a registration book with a pen for the older generation or people without mobile phones. Once when I was in a rush, I left my car without my phone but had to return to take my phone as I was not able to enter the petrol station and shop because I was not able to present my vaccination status (which is recorded in my phone) as well as register my entry, which is a prerequisite to enter a premise.

My phone is with me when once I wake up(the first time I check), before I sleep, during shower/bath, toilet, work, eat, rest, exercise, etc. That being said, I once brought my "waterproof" Sony Xperia with me to the hot springs. Aside from wanting to take some nice pictures, I was also concerned about being contactable. I had a great time with my Sony Xperia🥰. We went through the warm water and sauna together. We took a few good pictures too. As I mobilized towards a cooler area, and the temperature dropped, my darling Sony Xperia started acting weird (the display flickered and powered off by itself as soon as I powered it on, repeatedly) and subsequently, left me. Apparently, the water vapour seeped into the electronic parts and the phone was water-resistant NOT waterproof. Brilliant Eva! Good job! (sarcasm here). Thus, a lesson learnt, don't bring your phone everywhere. I am only one step away from dropping my handphone into a toilet bowl, going by my attachment with my mobile phone, as well as my mobile phone usage habits.

As we moved towards e-wallets and mobile banking, our phones which carries these apps becomes an essential accessory. We can leave our wallet/purse behind as long as we have our mobile phones and internet access, we will be able to make payments for purchases.

In this age of digitalization and industrial revolution 4.0, there is almost an application for everything as well as mobile compatible/friendly/optimized. Many multimedia are communicated and viewed via a mobile phone, i.e. videos, music, news, social media, etc. Now, I even track my fitness activity via my mobile phone, thanks to Actifit and no thanks to FitBit - This is another story.

Additionally, nowadays, I keep myself updated on Hive via the Ecency app.

I am highly reliant on my mobile phone to capture moments by taking a picture or video with my mobile phone, as I do not own a standalone camera.

Captured with Huawei Nova 4 at Chinatown, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.


Suki lazing on her soft pink carpet.💓


Selfie time.😝

Documented my home-cooked omelette with cheese, mushrooms, cherry tomatoes and onions.

Home-cooked Salmon and Unagi Don.

Furthermore, these captured moments are stored and shared via a mobile phone as well as the success of arriving at a destination, is highly dependent on the navigation application made available on our mobile phones. (many people are not able to recognize roads/streets and locations even if they have been there more than once, without these maps or navigation applications.)

Hence, my mobile phone is the most important thing that I ALWAYS carry with me. However, I acknowledge that this is not healthy too. As I've experienced separation anxiety when my phone ran out of battery or when I am in an area that is out of network/telecommunication coverage. Additionally, sometimes, we forget the people, scenery and present moment in front of us. Sometimes, a break is required from all electronics.

For more information or to join this contest, click Here

All content i.e. photos, videos, etc. are produced originally by me unless stated otherwise.
All photos in this post are without filters and not edited.

I would like to invite @beeber to join this contest too. 😉😊

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
29 Comments
Ecency