DIY - I want to be more handy

I earlier wrote about that we bought a new apartment. I was so excited that I wanted to actually try to do the small touchups in my own apartment. I want to be more handy, so I can create a pretty home cheeper than if someone should do it for me. It's also a way to feel independent and don't have the need to ask people to help.

There was a few spots I had to plaster/putty (dont know if it's the right word for it), to brush/sand it, and in the end paint over it. I have painted a lot before, but as you can see the wall aren't smooth, so I had to make it like the original wall myself. I did that with a thicker layer of paint and a sponge.

I also had a problem with what color my white walls was, because it was a standard painting that came with my apartment. But I actually found the right color on my first try.


First project:

I started off with removing the hanger, and also to remove the plastic piece in the wall. I used the backside of a hammer to remove the screw.

6E5AD36A-0188-44D7-AB91-BBB6CAF6EAD3.jpeg

I putted in three layers, just to make it look good as possible. And I brushed in after every time.

83140B83-AFE4-437E-802D-751D240F1FE6.jpeg

And here are the result!

This is actually the best one so far. If I hadn't know about it, I wouldn't had seen it.

24DFFF6E-BD79-45CF-B530-7FE81921744B.jpeg


This was my second project:

I had to putty/plaster, to brush/sand (still don't know the right words for it, haha) and paint it as well. There wasn't a smooth wall here either, so it was kind of the same process.

I putty/plastered three times in small layers, and I had to brush off the putty every time it dried. I did remove the tape after the second layer. I wanted to see if it would look better if I taped around it. But the putty would just stick inside of the tape. That's the reason why I removed it.

68A648ED-A32C-4751-86A6-1A8EBC0C3767.jpeg

This is the first layer of paint.

And as you can see, the hole shows better on this project than the first one.

206B30F0-2051-4D55-8F3B-67BAFDFF9E29.jpeg

This is my second layer:

And here is me trying to make the same surface as the walls. I did use a sponge, and making some small grooves in the paint with a round brush.

92D1F690-8B7C-4915-9FE5-C3B96B6A6E88.jpeg

And this is the result:

As you can see, there is traces of a not perfection work. But I'm going to put a hanger right by it, so it wouldn't show. I thought it was hard to make it like the original wall, but I may try to have a thick, round brush, with paint and just tap it on.

FC4FE227-C836-4124-87B7-19B6A1CED085.jpeg


I didn't take a before picture of this project:

But when we first painted it in this color, we didn't try to screw it off the walls. We was "new in this game", and we didn't want to destroy anything. That ment we had to tape all around the corners, and some of the blue tape did get stuck in the painting. The most annoying part of it was the typical white spots around it too.

As you can see, it became perfect! No white spots, all the blue pieces of the tape are gone.

15F7CF77-A6ED-4A2F-AE2C-5DFA14C33CF0.jpeg


These projects wasn't hard to learn at all, just follow the steps and do what the instruction says. I asked for help on the store where I bought it too. I thought it was harder to make it perfect, but I actually want to do more like this in the future. It doesn't take a lot of time to do the job, but it need to settle and dry for a while.

My next project are to place my curtain hanger higher up, so the room looks bigger. My friend came and helped, because she got a wall drill that is ment for concrete. We drilled upon a metal piece (a stender) and that is where it stopped. Me and @pusen have planned to buy a metal detector for walls, so I can see where I can use the wall drill to get the curtains up. I don't want to drill into anything that I'm not supposed to drill into.

I'm now soon finished with the putty/plaster the walls after the old curtains. I'm looking forward to see the results, and I hope that we can finish this project soon.

Stay tuned for our next project!

If you are handy, or know anything that would help me during this process, I would love to know!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments
Ecency