I was Walking on Wednesday


Opera anyone?
Come on!! A show of hands!
Who doesn't love opera?


opera.png


The architecture is from days gone by, probably one of the reasons I like some of these little old towns in Northern Virginia. Like so many towns in Northern Virginia, the feeling of home greets you at every corner. I actually parked in the opera parking lot because I have to pick up someone at the train station here. Oh, to be fair, you have to cut down the alley where the sign says Opera Alley, the shortcut to the parking lot! I could have parked at the station, but, then my #WednesdayWalk with @tattoodjay would be nonexistent. That would be a fail. Let's be off! We have a train to catch!


cafe.png


I walk towards the station, passing a waving barista at a coffee place that I frequent. The atmosphere is 3/4 of the allure. I am surrounded by towns like this and I love it. People are always amazed that the Washington, DC metro area has these pockets of pretty. I am sure it surprises many people that there are small towns close by. These "Old Towns" were the center of activity way back when. They didn't let them do the urban sprawl, keeping them small and quaint and very much sought after in the Real Estate Market. Still, I find it very easy to slip into life here.

French Press, s'il vous plaît. Yes, please. I do like my coffee.


We haven't walked very far, but, if you are like me, a cappuccino sounds like a nice diversion, a bit of a break in the walk. Slow down, you're moving too fast. We did the brisk walk through town and realized that I am too far ahead of schedule, so let's pick a colorful umbrella and take in the view. French Press or cappuccino, or something else?


23KQwnti57stuXpnvnU2D4w5Hhi3Micu1ZRCk7Tjiao4xBwLYzD8UGf2ap5YyGpfRK5q3gKnEckv8GBZjSgv95frQzwfLei.png


This is only around the corner from the commuter rail station. In front of it is a Pavillion that is a meeting place of sorts. If I come out this way, I go to their Farmers Market and it is a bandstand or for civic events. In the winter, you can don your ice skates and give them a whirl. No charge. In this town, this is the meeting place. In the summer, I have spent many moments listening to the music floating through Old Town, courtesy of the Pavillion. Lawn chairs are set up and blankets are tossed down in the area, and, suddenly, it is like a night out in the neighborhood.

Le Sigh


bandstand.png


I have done an informal meet and greet with people along the way, it takes so little effort to be kind to people and extend simple courtesies. Good morning, how are you goes a long way, and why not?


Center Crest.png

At this point, I must beg your pardon for a moment or three. We know that there will be an interruption of service somewhere in the post for the allowance of flowers. Flowers. There must always be a flower. #alwaysaflower To color my world.


11056571_10153482546183832_2527022493675837136_o.jpg


If the sun shines in your soul, does it really matter if it rains outside?


train station.png



Just like it was built, and still used today. Such a quaint little waiting area and this is not the main station, but, a little pit stop. Still, I enjoy doing a pick-up here and getting out, seeing what is open and what is shut down permanently. Sadly, there are more than I realized and I have to wonder the impact it has on these people. There are days that I wonder how we can appear so solvent, when in fact, the impact has been huge.


station.png


Here she comes!!!

Thank you so much for joining me on my #WednesdayWalk. I had a wonderful time showing off what makes my day in this area. I always do and you are always so kind to come along. There is so much to see, so much to do and truly remarkable people to do it with. Life is good. Embrace it!


train.png


All I have are my words, armed in my mind, written in pen, stand by stand. Oh, yes. Still by hand. It has a different feel. Altered not by keys, backspace, and delete, I write, erase, tear it to pieces and start all over again. And again.

It’s my way. I walk out to the deep end of the page and dive right in.


7ohP4GDMGPrUMp8dW6yuJTR9MKNu8P8DCXDU9qmmitVbWbhtmRpYe2wGSouAQGtZAwwad83zdcE3LcYZ4jTST8qoyA9GW4jzD3Ai (1).jpg

Love is all around! You can't have everything. But you can have a #WednesdayWalk! And just that quick, this show is over! Tag me if you want me to check you out! As always, keep on Hiving!

20200312_091441.jpg



Facebook

Twitter

Instagram




The Naming of Cats

The Naming of Cats is a difficult matter,
It isn’t just one of your holiday games;
You may think at first I’m as mad as a hatter
When I tell you, a cat must have THREE DIFFERENT NAMES.

TS Elliot


#TeamUSA is a growing community of quality-content people from the United States or those living here. Check us out on Discord!

TEAMUSAhive_dswigle 1.jpg


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
70 Comments
Ecency