LOH CONTEST #157-The Misunderstood Silence: What People Get Wrong About Me

Hello everyone,
It's been awhile since I participate in the #ladiesofhive contest, today seeing the wonderful topic I was really inspired to make a post about it.

IMG_20231023_173739_140.jpg

We live in a world where people prioritize loudness. When you are not a loud person they take you for granted and sometimes they think you are weak and feeble. But there is something about silence as it still remains a mystery to many people, I have been misunderstood several times, when I'm quite they normally think that my silence means I don't have interest, some thinks I'm a shy person or even aloofness person, but the truth is there is a lot of things attached to my silence that one can easily detect.

My Silence does not mean disinterest
I think there is a big misconception about silence that a lot of people have believed over time, that silence means weakness and disinterest. For me I can be paying careful attention, trying to get the point and process it before giving my answer or contribution and most times when I'm silent I'm just enjoying the quiet moment and just being on my own. This is just my own way of enjoying my world, I like the inner peace that comes with silence.

I know very well that silence most times is being categorized with people who are shy but not a universal truth, but it is another misunderstanding that silence means shyness.I know I'm an introvert person, I do like my privacy and a quiet place to be. I prefer meaningful discussion over plenty of talks. I keep quiet when I don't have anything important to say or I don't have interest in the topic of discussion but not that my silence is a sign of social anxiety, I just choose to be that way and it has been the best way for me.

For me my silence is my strength, when I'm silent about anything or any discussion it's a time for me to gather more momentum. Most times I prefer Silence and peace of mind rather than involving myself in an unnecessary conflict that has no meaning and benefits my life. I keep quiet and think before voicing out so that I don't end up staying in the trash. I noticed that people who speak a lot most times end up saying trash. It is better to take time and process and think so that every word I speak carries weight and meaning.

One of the best aspects of my silence is that I'm a good listener, I do give people time and opportunity to speak their mind and express themselves. When I'm quiet I'm also fully engaged in the communication but in a silent mood, I just want to hear your own thoughts and how you see things from your own perspective without interrupting the conversation. Sometimes it is a sign of respect.

Thanks for reading, it's really a privilege to make this post because most people think different about me which is not really true.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
19 Comments
Ecency