The Magical Gift that is 2020 🤦🏻‍♀️

Have you ever had a day that made you want to disinfect your face?


76B38F3A-DE6C-4861-8658-271312130DB8.png

Neither had I.


UNTIL TODAY!!!


But let’s go back in time to yesterday...

A6F22AB2-18D1-41A0-8E17-CCDAA05CCAA1.png

Yesterday I decided to go on a BIG drive. I have the week off of work (furlough) and I wanted to do SOMETHING fun. Between covid shelter at home recommendations and a recent influx of wildfire smoke, I was getting super sick of my own house. So I jumped into my car without a real destination in mind.

Two hours later I was deep into North Cascades National Park. The area is considered the Alps of North America. It is wild, beautiful and isolated.

BAAA5669-3D81-44AA-8B29-2CD388E22992.jpeg

Diablo Lake, glacial fed and turquoise blue.

About an hour into my drive I lost cell reception. Not a huge deal, but no one was really out yesterday due to the smoke and it being a Wednesday. I was mildly concerned because my 2007 Dodge Caliber hasn’t been totally reliable the past couple of years.

Lucky me, I made it to the mountains and about halfway home before my oil light blinked on and off. Hmmmm.... 🤔 With an hour left on my four hour round trip adventure I kept pushing forward.

Closer to home the oil light blinked on and off again. Then my car lost its ability to accelerate up hill. I made it back to the house in one piece but knew it was time to call the auto shop.

This morning I was able to make a service appointment, but not until September 28! Hearing that my oil light had come on, the mechanic suggested I stop by today to at least have my oil topped up. The mechanic is just a mile from home and I got there with no mechanical problems.

For some reason the oil top up took forever.


And by “some reason” I mean some DISGUSTING reason.


57CA471B-5C7A-45CB-A56A-6208234C4A47.png

RATS!!!!

My engine was filled with rat feces. 😭😭😭😭

When the mechanic opened my hood there was rat 💩 everywhere. So he couldn’t change the oil until cleaning the crap... for fear that the excrement would fall into the oil tank.

GROSS!!!!!!

But even more disgusting, the air for the vents and AC get sucked into the passenger compartment via the engine! Which we have now discovered is RAT POO CITY!!!! 🤢 And I spent FOUR HOURS in the car yesterday just letting it blow into my face!!!! Forget covid! I am probably catching Hanta Virus now. 😭

This is 2020.

Apparently with people not driving as much this has been a common problem in 2020. Rats spot a cozy car parked along side the house or in the garage and set up camp. I am told the sent left behind by the rats will keep attracting them to my vehicle.

So, what to do?

First off, SET FIRE TO THE CAR. OK, this option isn’t for everyone, but it was my first instinct. That and set fire to my lungs and face as they had been basking in poo breezes on my whole drive yesterday.

Next option, detail the engine. This will be happening on the 28th. The engine will be steem cleaned and disinfected. I suppose they will check to see if the rats have nibbled on wires and such too.

Finally, the internet suggests spraying the clean engine components with peppermint oil diluted in water. Doing this every six months is rumored to keep rodent interlopers away. We’ll see, or maybe it’s just time to buy a new car! 🤣😂😄

2020 truly is the Year of the Rat!


Hope your day is more like a long lovely drive and less like a rat poo breeze.


96199561-AD61-40B6-AA9A-F539996D87D6.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
48 Comments
Ecency