LOH Contest #122: Beauty is a Symbol.


Pexels - itemguides.com

Beauty is easy.

Naturally, we are humans who act based on what they see and feel rather than the calls of deeper things. We are shallow by nature and that has never been a lie.

The truth is, beauty is easy on the eye. It is easier to classify something when it is beautiful. Humans don't like complicated and that is why you give a man a tool box and tell him, "this is a toolbox" he is grateful and knows what to do with it. Give him a long stick and tell him, "this is a wand" and you earn the stink eye.

It could really be a wand but who believes in fairy tales any more and when did a wand look like a piece of garbage?

We all like things that are easy on the eyes. Why? Because our blood sings when we come across something 'beautiful'. We suddenly become poetic and feel things that we'd normally not feel.

It is easier to love the beast in human form than covered in fur. And I think it is we, not society, who have dictated what is beautiful.

Beauty is experience

Honestly, beauty is not by the surface. But we have all heard that haven't we? Beauty is the deep within the deep, the you we don't see; the green to the emerald. Beauty goes underneath, drowned in scars and battle wounds.

Maybe I am bias as to what true beauty is. I think we have gotten to that point in this generation where we just want to be the best of the best even if it means relinquishing true beauty.

These days, we want a friend who is slender, easy to look at and comes from a pretty nice background. Where I come from, when your friend has all the connections, you're made. Doesn't matter if you're just a lapdog, as long as you get this guy on your side.

And I honestly think that is what it is. Society is all about class. Status. Power. The more we get sucked into society's rule book the more we loose sight of what is truly worth it.

Beauty is opinion

But wait a minute, what if that is just our person? What if we just have a spec? That isn't bad. We are all allowed to have our own opinions as long as we don't try to enforce them on others. Now that is what society tries to do.

It tells you that someone isn't good enough because they aren't from a good home, have the best education or use the latest phone.

Now, I am speaking from my perspective from what I have experienced as a young girl in my country. I am still growing and still learning about life. But I will say that society places a high value on beauty because it is easy to find.

Now, not just physical beauty. Society also wants you to be pure in and out. They want you to bend and break when you should. It's no wonder we have a lot of people rebelling against the moral codes because they don't like to be 'classified' or 'put in a box'.

Why you ask? Beauty is a symbol

I am a huge fan of beauty. I see beauty and I admire it but I also acknowledge that beauty makes me work harder. Because the image I have of me five years from now, is a beautiful one. And no doubt, beauty draws people in.

Like a moth to a flame. People gravitate towards people with a beautiful (successful) life. They want their secrets. And there you have it. Beauty is also a symbol of success.


This is my response to the Ladies of Hive Community Contest #122 question:

Why do you think society places such a high value on beautywhen it serves no functional purpose?

I invite @ambilex41 and @treasuree to answer any of the questions presented by the community!



H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
33 Comments
Ecency