FOREVER GRATEFUL!

woman-4017330_1920.jpg
Source: pixabay.com

Where do i begin to recount all i am grateful for? I can't tell everything to be honest but I'll tell what i can.

Reading @Khaleesi post put me into overdrive. I am twenty years old and i have no idea how i got here. How i survived so long. It could only be God. That and the most amazing woman ever; my mom!

woman-1209866_1920.jpg
Source: pixabay.com

I never grew with my dad. All I've ever known was my mom. As i matured though, i got to understand that he left after squandering the little my mother had saved up for us. It was painful to find out at age 10 that on the very day my mother was fighting for her life and mine, the very day she was bringing me out into this world, was the same day that man was making peace with his lover.

I had a bad habit of eaves dropping and found out most things mom never told me through eavesdropping on conversations. To be honest, i never felt the same since then.

I got to understand three years after that, that "the more you know, the lonelier you become."

I was never an ordinary kid. I couldn't relate with my mates because they just couldn't understand me. I was always different and after taking a test at thirteen, i understood that age never mattered. I was thirteen but i had the mind of a twenty year old. It was shocking to some people but not to me.

For a while, i tried to fit in, be the same with my peers and see things like they did. I'd do silly things and end up regretting them. This constant cycle landed me into depression which, fast forward to seven years later, escalated to Cyclothymia.

I never fit in and i learned to accept it. As time passed, i got to understand that what i needed was right with me.

gratitude-1251137_1920.png
Source: pixabay.com

My mother started from ground level when she left my dad. She had nothing. We moved to Kaduna to stay with an Aunt who'd promised to help her only to be thrown out four years later. That day has been carved on my brain. It was a rainy night and other kids would have been crying during such crisis but i never shed a tear. Like i said, i was never normal. I just watched as my mom pleaded and begged and ... It wasn't the best of sights.

However, I AM twenty, in my 300L in university. My mother still works her butt off and i do as well. If i was given the opportunity to choose my story, i wouldn't change this one.

My mom has always been my hero!

IMG-20210920-WA0076.jpg
This image is not mine!

Thing I've discovered: Learn from your mistakes, practice growth and build your future.

THANKS FOR READING!

Twitter: Deraa_writes

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
15 Comments
Ecency