This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

LOH #129 | The Unexpected Gift: How A Single Flower Made My Day

Red Colorful Welcome Spring Facebook Cover .png

This is my first time participating in LOH's community contest. I've decided to answer the second question:

image.png
LOH's Community Contest Question #2

Flowers hold a special place in my heart. Over the years, I have received countless flowers as thoughtful gifts from a friend, my family, my suitors, my partner, my students, and even random kids. I've received different types of flowers - some are handmade, some are plastic, candy, but most of them are genuine ones. I've been gifted flowers for Valentine's Day, Teacher's Day, my birthday, and even out of nowhere. Every single one of them brought a smile to my face.

some of the flowers given to me

rosessunflowerstargazer lilies

I never thought that a single flower would have such a great impact on me.

It all started when I was watering the plants on our balcony one day. I looked at the tall and skinny cactus which my grandmother had given me months ago when I was grieving about my high-maintenance calendula plant dying because of my lack of care. I was hesitant to take care of another plant after that, I was scared that I might kill it too, but my grandmother convinced me to try again. This cactus is low-maintenance, but I still check on it to ensure that I'm giving it the proper care. I don't want another plant to die because of me.

IMG_20210428_075613.jpg
my tall and skinny cactus bloomed

I saw something red while watering it. I assumed it was a piece of red colored paper or plastic that had landed on it. I walked towards it and I couldn't believe what I saw - my tall and skinny cactus had bloomed! I was totally surprised as I sat there, admiring the small but gorgeous flower.

That flower was unlike any other flowers I had received before. I couldn't help but stare at it. None of the flowers I had received back then made me feel the way this one did. There was something special about this.

I took a picture of it and I can't help wondering why it made me feel so happy. It wasn't just the beauty of the flower that moved me. Perhaps it was the care and attention I had put into nurturing it even though it's a low-maintenance one, that made the flower so meaningful. I had watched this plant grow and bloom and looking at the flower was truly rewarding.

The single flower turned my ordinary day into a special one. For me, it was a reminder that beauty can come from unexpected places and that taking care of something can lead to wonderful results. I realized that sometimes, it's the small things in life that can have the biggest impact. This flower made me see all the beauty out there, and treasure the things that matter.


How about you, when was the last time you got a gift of flowers?


📸 All images are mine unless otherwise stated.
Cover photo edited using Canva