What's The Most Useful Thing You Own? #97 LOH Contest

20220901_152010_0000.png

What's The Most Useful Thing You Own?

This is a queer question to ask. If I ask this question to a young kid, he or she would probably say it's their favorite toy.

And if you would ask me, my answer would be my VOICE.

You see, your voice might be the most basic solution to your most basic problem. When you were still a baby and you feel something weird in your body, you let out a cry. When you're hungry or distressed, you cry. You let out your voice and your mommy beckons to your needs.

As you get older you learn words and could vocalize your specific needs that people around you caters. It's that simple, right? You tell someone what you want and they give it to you. Material Thing. Love. Affection. Empathy. Forgiveness. Whatever it may be.

But there are few instances in our lives where we loses that voice. Take as an example a toxic relationship. Things could have gone a different way when you have voiced out your feelings inside you. Most abuse could have ended differently if and only the abused voiced out what's happening behind closed doors. Voice is a weapon everyone can wield.

We tend to forget that a simple shout of the word 'help' could turn your whole world upsidedown.

And how about those who cannot talk? Voice might have started with a cry but it doesn't end there. As you grow older and learn words and actions, the connotation of the word voice also broadens. Your hand signs and letters can also be your voice. It doesn't mean you cannot utter a word, you are weak. There are so many ways to voice out your heart and the many books out there are a testimony of it.

Jose P. Rizal, the national hero of the Philippines won the heart of our countrymen through his voice, his writings and his wisdom. He became a hero simply by his voice.

Helen Keller who was a renowned author was deaf, blind and mute yet she advocated the women's rights through her works, through her voice. Her shortcomings didn't stop her from speaking her heart.

And as I mature, I learned that my voice is a super power. Through the voice of my ancestors, it liberated a lot of women. Slavery was demolished and constitutions were established. Rules and laws were hammered.

Through my voice, I can communicate. And through communication, I can be heard.

That's why if you ask me, what's the most useful thing I own? It's definitely my VOICE.

Before I end this article let me invite @gyrag to join this week's contest of Ladies Of Hive.

20220807_012142_0000.png

png_20220806_215522_0000.png

All photos attached to this article are owned by the author unless stated.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency