Spending time with family

I write to you with a belly full of risotto and wine.

It's a strange experience for me to drink more than a single glass of wine πŸ₯‚

But it seems that this is the influence my family currently has on me.

I see them so infrequently at the moment that I'm okay with it. πŸ˜„

I'm grateful to be staying with my mother. Partly because I get to check up on how she's going (she's not aging that well; she is struggling to realise how much she has already declined) and partly because I get to hug her, often.

In was determined to see my sister and 6-year-old niece while we are here as well. Thankfully, she was able to squeeze it in this afternoon. She's been flat out crazy busy running a national non-profit organisation with looming deadlines.

And her and her partner just got engaged and so she was happily showing off her ring πŸ’

I'd seen it in the family message group already but now it was time to show it off in person. It was pretty, of course, and she loves having a ring on her finger after years of waiting.

I got to have two long walks with her, just the two of us, which was fab. During one of them we might have had champagne in our hands as we strolled the windy streets of Sydney, catching up on life. 😜

We get so little real time to talk since she's so maxed out; even phone calls are hard. So I relished having her all to myself for about an hour.

Brad did a fantastic job of playing with our niece; I'm always so impressed when I see him with her. He is so good with little kids. πŸ™

So today could be surprised with the following words:

  • Family πŸ‘ͺπŸ‘΅πŸ‘«
  • Food πŸ₯£
  • Strolls πŸšΆβ€β™€οΈπŸšΆβ€β™€οΈπŸšΆβ€β™‚οΈ
  • Wine πŸ₯‚
  • Wind πŸƒ

And hugs, definitely hugs πŸ€—

While I'm not prepared to put our family photos from today on the blockchain, I like this photo because it shows the togetherness I felt today.

This is HiveBloPoMo post number 20 (of 30) for the month!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
21 Comments
Ecency