Matthew's 10th Birthday!

Our youngest child turned 10 on Wednesday. A whole 10 years old! It's quite something to get your head around as a Mommy. This milestone where the double-digit really reminds me that my little one is really growing up, and yet still in my mind, whether he likes it or not, he will always be my baby!

We started celebrations at my mom's house, where he was spoilt rotten with an heirloom gift of a genuine Spanish guitar from my mom (which I will be pinching from time to time), a massive cheese platter from my sister (this has become somewhat of a Christmas and birthday tradition between the two of them, since they both adore cheese) and his own mobile phone from @Zakludick and I (so he can stop nagging me to play minecraft on my own phone). My mom made a lovely chocolate cake and there we're even chocolate eclairs on offer, which we scoffed with glee!

Next, we were off to the Spur, which is a local family restaurant and a firm favorite here in South Africa for kiddies' birthdays as the staff sing Happy Birthday at the table and they bring sparklers for the children. It was also a stark reminder to us that it was probably the last time all the children would be able to order off the kiddies menu, since our other two are two and four years older than Matthew, respectively.

The children all had burgers, I had ribs and @ZakLudick had an enormous and very delicious eisbein. For dessert, the kids had icecream with smarties, and Zak and I shared a Bar One Sundae.

We then shot off to the movies and almost missed the trailers! This was really such a luxury. I personally haven't been to the movies in over 5 years. When Covid hit, we all thought we would never be going to see any movies ever again, so it really was a wonderful feeling to sit in the cinema again. We watched the new Buzz Lightyear movie, which I must tell you, for a kids movie, was absolutely fantastic!!! Five stars. It did make me want to go home and cuddle my cat though. Watch it and you will find out why!

We ended the evening way after bedtime, but we all slept like rocks after all the sugar and delicious food we had eaten all day. Here are the cupcakes (all 72 of them!) that I made for Matthew to take to school that day. FYI, he chose the alligators! We definitely kept some at home and I have been munching them on the sly! The recipe will follow shortly. Look out for it on the @FoodiesBeehive community!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency