Joys and sorrows of the year 2022

This year that will soon end has left many lessons in my life. At the end of 2021, as I usually do, I made my list of resolutions for the coming year, but as it usually happens, what is on paper is not always what happens and we must adapt to the circumstances and act accordingly.

After reviewing all the events of the year I have selected the saddest and the most joyful moment which I will show you below.

My greatest sadness

IMG_20221228_234409.jpg
Sadness is an emotion that I hate, I reject it and I try by all means not to let it touch me, because I feel it very painful and heavy. But it is inevitable that events happen that provoke this discomfort.

At the end of January, a brother-in-law was brought to the house, he was sick and it was necessary to observe him closely, he had been living alone for a long time and his health was quite deteriorated, so it was necessary to take care of his diet and medical treatment in the right way.

I hoped he would get better, so I dedicated myself to help him as much as I could, as if he were my brother, but I did not see any progress. His brother would play the music he liked in his youth and he would perk up at times but would immediately fall into a deep sleep.

Listening to those boleros made my soul gray, I tried to be emotionally well, but it was very difficult, I told myself: this is not about you, he is the one who needs attention, to try to get rid of my sorrow. Those were very difficult days, the doctors had already diagnosed his illness and we were aware that the end was near.

He would ask me for coffee and I would give it to him knowing that maybe it was the last one, he would take just a sip, smile and continue sleeping, if I provoked him a particular food I would serve it to him and he would eat a little, he was happy and very grateful, with some embarrassment, he did not know me and he was ashamed to receive attention.

Sometimes he would ask me about people I didn't know, or he would tell me something about them and go back to sleep, they were his friends from his youth, I learned later. Caring for someone in his last moments is very sad. He was home for 18 days until he left.

My greatest joy

I value family life very much, the hugs, kisses, laughter and meetings with other loved ones, one of the events I enjoyed the most this year was my birthday. Since I woke up I was receiving congratulations from each of my family members, I had traveled to San Fernando de Apure to be with them on that date.

IMG_20221228_233105.jpg

Besides that, the messages from other family and friends, who are away, with audios, calls and video calls throughout the day was very nice. In the evening, the family reunion with singing and jokes was the best.

I had many joys this year that culminates, where they also enter: seeing the Apure State Symphony Orchestra perform the arrangement for Apure orchestras in a Journey by Jenaro Prieto, made by my son; or my grandson playing the bandola with such skill; or the progress of all of them in their studies; my return to painting, an activity I had abandoned for lack of materials; the beginning of my small garden, something I had proposed to myself for this year; visits to relatives; fixing flaws in the home; solving medical and dental problems and more; but I wanted to select that birthday.

I've made this post to participate in the contest proposed by the Ladies of Hive community

Thank you for your kind reading

My content is original
The images belong to me
I have used the translator DeepL

20210927_105516_0000.png

Este año que pronto culmina dejó muchos aprendizajes en mi vida. A finales del 2021, como suelo hacer, elaboré mi lista de propósitos para el entrante, pero como generalmente ocurre, lo que está en el papel no es siempre lo que ocurre y debemos irnos adaptando a las circunstancias y actuar en consecuencia.

Luego de revisar todos los eventos del año he seleccionado el momento más triste y el más alegre que a continuación les expongo.

Mi mayor tristeza

IMG_20221228_234409.jpg

La tristeza es una emoción que detesto, la rechazo y busco por todos los medios que no me toque, porque la siento muy dolorosa y pesada. Pero es inevitable que ocurran eventos que nos provoquen ese malestar.

A finales del mes de enero, trajeron a un cuñado a la casa, estaba enfermo y era necesario observarlo de cerca, él vivía solo desde hacía mucho tiempo y su salud estaba bastante deteriorada, por lo que era necesario atender su alimentación y tratamiento médico de la manera correcta.

Yo esperaba que mejorara por ello me dediqué a ayudar en todo lo que pudiera, como si se tratara de un hermano, pero no veía avances. Su hermano le colocaba la música que a él le gustaba en la juventud y él se animaba por momentos pero inmediatamente caía en un sueño profundo.

Escuchar aquellos boleros me ponía el alma gris, trataba de estar anímicamente bien, pero era muy difícil, me decía: esto no se trata de ti, es él quien requiere atención, para tratar de quitarme la pesadumbre. Fueron días muy difíciles, ya los médicos habían diagnosticado su enfermedad y estábamos al tanto de que el final estaba cerca.

Él me pedía café y yo se lo daba a sabiendas de que quizá era el último, él tomaba apenas un sorbo, sonreía y seguía durmiendo, si le provocaba un alimento en particular se lo servía y él comía un poco, se alegraba y agradecía mucho, con cierta vergüenza, él no me conocía y le daba pena recibir atenciones.

A veces me preguntaba por personas que yo no conocía, o me contaba algo de ellas y se volvía a dormir, eran sus amigos de juventud, supe después. Atender a alguien en sus últimos momentos es muy triste. Estuvo 18 días en casa hasta que partió.

Mi mayor alegría

Valoro mucho la vida familiar, los abrazos, besos, risas y encuentros con los demás seres queridos, uno de los eventos que más disfruté este año fue mi cumpleaños. Desde que me levanté estuve recibiendo felicitaciones de cada uno de los miembros de mi familia, había viajado a San Fernando de Apure para estar con ellos en esa fecha.

IMG_20221228_233105.jpg

Además de ello, los mensajes de otros familiares y amistades, que están fuera, con audios, llamadas y video llamadas a lo largo de todo el día fue muy agradable. En la noche, la reunión familiar con cantos y chistes fue lo máximo.

Tuve muchas alegrías este año que culmina, donde entran también: ver a la Orquesta Sinfónica del Estado Apure interpretar el arreglo para orquestas de Apure en un Viaje de Jenaro Prieto, hecho por mi hijo; o a mi nieto tocar la bandola con tanta destreza; o los avances de todos ellos en sus estudios; mi regreso a la pintura, actividad que había abandonado por falta de materiales; el inicio de mi pequeño jardín, algo que me había propuesto para este año; visitas a familiares; arreglo de desperfectos en el hogar; solución de problemas médicos y odontológicos y más; pero quise seleccionar ese cumpleaños.

IMG_20221228_233326.jpg

He hecho esta publicación para participar en el concurso propuesto por la comunidad Ladies of Hive

Gracias por tu amable lectura

Mi contenido es original
Imágenes de mi archivo personal contextualizadas en el post

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency