House Husband : Myth or reality? / Ladies of Hive Community Contest #75 [ENG/SPA]

Hello ladies!

Today's world poses greater challenges and requires us to evolve as a society from its most basic nucleus, such as the family, where each of its members must assume tasks regardless of their gender. This makes us wonder what happens when husbands must assume the housework? I invite you to continue reading my publication to see what it is all about.

Hola ladies!

El mundo de hoy cada día nos plantea mayores desafíos y nos exige evolucionar como sociedad desde su núcleo más básico como lo es la familia donde cada uno de sus miembros debe asumir tareas independientemente de su género. Esto nos hace preguntarnos qué ocurre cuando los esposos deben asumir los quehaceres del hogar? Te invito a seguir leyendo mi publicación para que veas de qué va.

House Husband.gif

Source

I hadn't visited the ladiesofhive community for several days, so I started to read what's new in their publications, and I came across Contest #75 where they invite us to develop a couple of very interesting topics:

If we were to visit you, what is the "must-do activity" in your city?
Would it be something to eat, a place to visit, a person to meet, or something else?

O

How would you feel about a "househusband"?
Would you be okay with a relationship where the roles were reversed?

That's why I decided to make my entry for this week and tell you what I think about "househusbands".

Tenía varios días que no pasaba por la comunidad ladiesofhive así que comencé a leer lo nuevo en sus publicaciones y me encontré con el Contest #75 donde nos invitan a desarrollar un par de temas bien interesantes:


Si fuéramos a visitarte, ¿cuál es la "actividad imprescindible" en tu ciudad?
¿Sería algo para comer, un lugar para visitar, una persona para conocer, o algo más?


O


¿Qué opinas de un "marido casero"?
¿Estarías de acuerdo con una relación en la que los papeles se invirtieran?



Por eso me animé a realizar mi entrada para esta semana y contarles lo qué opino sobre los "maridos caseros"

cintillo atardecer definitivo.png

Upbringing is often a determining factor in how we relate to others. In Latin America there are many countries where household chores are instilled in girls as an obligation and a duty that should never be abandoned under any circumstances, encouraging the misnamed "abnegation" In this way, the classic behavior of the "male provider" is promoted from generation to generation and in this way, by bringing sustenance to the home, he is exempted from any task. Many mothers raise their sons under this premise. It is frowned upon for a man to offer to help with any household chores. I have seen many mothers, wives, and daughters kill the initiative in men when they want to help.

La crianza muchas veces es un factor determinante sobre cómo nos relacionamos con los demás. En latinoamérica hay muchos países donde los quehaceres del hogar se inculcan en la niñas como una obligación y un deber que jamás debe abandonarse bajo ninguna circunstancia fomentando la mal llamada "abnegación". De esta forma se promueve de generación en generación el comportamiento clásico del "hombre proveedor" y de esta manera al traer el sustento al hogar queda excento de cualquier tarea. Muchas madres crían a sus hijos varones bajo esta premisa por tanto es mal visto que un hombre se ofrezca a ayudar en alguna tarea del hogar. He visto a muchas madres, esposas e hijas matar la iniciativa en los hombres cuando éstos quieren ayudar.

boxing-g30d8257b8_640.jpg

Source

I come from a home that promotes the upbringing of "superwomen", strong women, with a tough temperament to face any challenge. The women in my family have shown themselves to be examples of how to carry their families forward in the face of many difficulties, and they have all turned out to be heroines. But what about these women? When you lack help and have no husband, you have to solve everything alone, but when you have a husband by your side, things are different.

In my family, I could see two behaviors thanks to these "superwomen". The first was to sow machismo in the dynamics of the home, and the second was to see husbands emasculated by the self-sufficiency of these women. In the end, these superwomen ended up exhausted and sick. Therefore, one of my premises when starting a family was to break this vicious circle. I did not want to be another "superwoman". I wanted a husband who was involved with the family and the home.

Yo provengo de un hogar donde se promueve la crianza de "supermujeres", mujeres fuertes, de temperamento recio para afrontar cualquier desafío. Las mujeres de mi familia se han mostrado como ejemplo para sacar a sus familias adelante frente a muchas dificultades resultando todas unas heroínas. Pero qué pasa con este tipo de mujeres? Cuando careces de ayuda y no tienes esposo pues toca resolver todo sola pero, cuando tienes a tu lado un esposo la cosa es diferente.


En mi familia pude ver dos comportamientos gracias a estas "supermujeres". El primero fue sembrar el machismo en la dinámica del hogar y la segunda fue ver maridos castrados por la autosuficiencia de estas mujeres. Al final estas supermujeres terminaron agotadas y enfermas. Por tanto una de mis premisas al formar una familia era romper con este círculo vicioso, no quería ser otra "supermujer" y quería un esposo que se involucrara con las cosas de la familia y el hogar.

happiness-gc4ae3591b_640.jpg

Source

Before I go any further, I should clarify that marriage is an act of faith. You decide to form a couple based on shared feelings, common goals, and the little information you may have about the customs, habits, and beliefs of that other person. Therefore, no one can predict with certainty the success or failure of a marriage.

Antes de seguir, debo aclarar que el matrimonio es un acto de fe. Decides formar una pareja basado en sentimientos compartidos, en metas comunes y en la poca información que tú puedas tener sobre las costumbres, hábitos y creencias de esa otra persona. Por tanto nadie puede augurar con certeza el éxito o fracaso de una matrimonio.

cintillo atardecer definitivo.png

I married nineteen years ago. I married a man raised by a single mother. He knew from a very young age how important it was to help with the household chores not only to help his mother but also as a means of survival when his mother was absent for work.

At the beginning of our marriage this combination of "home man" and "superwoman" was very difficult, since I did not want to follow the patterns of the women in my family but I did not know how to remove the chip that I had been programmed with. However, life taught me to value and accept my husband's help.

Me casé hace diecinueve años. Lo hice con un hombre críado por una madre soltera. Él desde muy pequeño sabía lo importante que era colaborar con los quehaceres del hogar no solo para ayudar a su madre si no también como modo de sobrevivencia cuando su madre estaba ausente por el trabajo.


Al principio de nuestro matrimonio esta combinación "hombre casero" y "supermujer" fue muy difícil, ya que no quería seguir los patrones de las mujeres de mi familia pero no sabía cómo quitarme el chip con el que se me había programado. Sin embargo la vida me enseñó a valorar y aceptar la ayuda de mi esposo.

Diseño sin título - 2022-03-21T090532.023.png

Source

For work reasons, I had to travel a lot and my husband took care of all the things around the house. He was a man who had the initiative to do the laundry, wait for me with a delicious plate of food, and take care of our pets. He is very good in the kitchen even though he says he is not. He has a finger-licking recipe for "cabbage chicken".

Grocery shopping is not his forte, but that's because maybe he doesn't want to bring more treats than we should consume. He does have a sweet tooth. However, in all the years we have been married, he has always accompanied me shopping. He doesn't like me to be out there alone carrying the weight of the bags.

Por motivos laborales tuve que viajar mucho y mi esposo se hizo cargo de todas las cosas de la casa. Era un hombre que tenía la iniciativa de lavar la ropa, esperarme con un delicioso plato de comida y hacerse cargo de nuestras mascotas. La cocina se le da muy bien aunque él dice que no. Tiene una receta de "pollo al repollo" para chuparse los dedos.


Hacer las compras de los víveres no es su fuerte pero es porque tal vez no quiere llevar más golosinas de lo que debemos consumir. Realmente es muy goloso. Sin embargo en todos los años que llevamos casados siempre me ha acompañado a comprar. No le gusta que esté sola por allí cargando el peso de las bolsas.

Diseño sin título - 2022-03-21T091446.576.png
Source

At home we have a deal, I cook and he does the dishes. It is a job he does with great care, the kitchen is very well organized for him. He has to fight with my mess.

When our son was born, it was the hardest time professionally. I had long hours and came home very late. My husband was unemployed, and it was up to me to support the household. I was worried that the baby would overwhelm us, but it was thanks to my husband that we were able to make it through those first few years with our son. In fact, it was my husband who taught me how to change diapers and hold our son.

My husband's love was so great that he devoted himself completely to being a "homemaker" and a committed father. I was able to work without worrying about my son's care. I would leave home early and know that my son would be well fed groomed, and cared for. This new facet made me fall more in love with my husband. He is a wonderful father, present in every moment of our son's life.

En casa tenemos un trato, yo cocino y él lava los platos, es una labor que hace con mucho esmero, la cocina le queda muy bien organizada. Más bien él debe luchar con mi desorden.


Cuando nació nuestro hijo, fue la época más dura a nivel profesional. Yo tenía horarios prolongados y llegaba muy tarde a casa. Mi esposo quedó sin empleo y me tocaba a mi mantener el hogar. Me preocupaba mucho que el bebé nos abrumara, pero fue gracias a mi esposo que pudimos salir airosos en esos primeros años con nuestro hijo. De hecho quien me enseñó a cambiar pañales y cargar a nuestro hijo fue mi esposo.


El amor de mi esposo era tan grande que se avocó por completo a ser un "amo de casa" y un padre comprometido. Pude trabajar sin preocupación sobre el cuidado de mi hijo. Salía muy temprano de mi casa y sabía que mi hijo estaría bien alimentado, aseado y cuidado. Esta nueva faceta me hizo enamorarme más de mi esposo. Es un padre maravilloso, presente en cada instante de la vida de nuestro hijo.

Diseño sin título - 2022-03-21T092634.156.png

Source

cintillo atardecer definitivo.png

In all these years of marriage, we have had many opportunities to exchange roles while maintaining a healthy balance so that neither of us ends up overwhelmed or exhausted with household chores. Thanks to this I have been able to develop myself to the fullest as a professional and make several dreams come true. I have had the unconditional support of my husband to be everything I have wanted to be. I do not have the perfect husband, he is a man with his faults and virtues, but the virtues are many more. This peace of mind has allowed me to enjoy motherhood to the fullest.

Today our goal is for our son to also be a "functional man". We emphasize that with the collaboration of each member of the family, no one is overloaded, and everyone has time to enjoy the activities that give them satisfaction.

En todos estos años de matrimonio hemos tenido muchas oportunidades de intercambiar papeles manteniendo un equilibrio saludable para que ninguno de nosotros termine agobiado o agotado con los quehaceres del hogar. Gracias a esto he podido desarrollarme al máximo como profesional y hacer varios sueños realidad. He contado con el apoyo incondiconal de mi esposo para ser todo lo que he querido. No tengo el esposo perfecto, es un hombre con sus defectos y virtudes, pero las virtudes son muchas más. Esta tranquilidad me ha permitido disfrutar la maternidad al máximo.


Hoy nuestro objetivo es que nuestro hijo también sea un "hombre funcional". Hacemos mucho hincapié que con la colaboración de cada miembro de la familia ninguno se recarga y todos tienen tiempo para disfrutar de las actividades propias que les causen satisfacción.

couple-g91005962a_640.jpg

Source

cintillo atardecer definitivo.png

I must conclude by telling you that for "role reversals" to occur harmoniously, understanding, empathy, and balance are needed to grow as a family.

I hope you enjoyed my publication. I take this opportunity to invite my dear @graciadegenios to participate in this week's Contest .

Debo concluir diciéndoles que para que los "cambios de papeles" puedan ocurrir de forma armoniosa se necesita de mucha comprensión, empatía y equilibrio para poder crecer como familia.


Espero hayan disfrutado de mi publicación. Aprovecho de invitar a participar a mi querida @graciadegenios en el Contest de esta semana.

cintillo atardecer definitivo.png

Thanks for reading. See you in a future post!

Gracias por leerme. ¡Nos vemos en una próxima publicación!

cintillo atardecer definitivo.png

English (2).gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
32 Comments
Ecency