This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

My inspiration and admiration for Selena Quintanilla/Contest 73 Ladies of Hive [ENG/ESP]

20220308_215738_0000.png

Hello everyone! Today, March 8th, I want to send a big hug and congratulations to all the women who make life in Hive. And as part of the celebration, this article is my entry for Contest #73 of the Ladies of Hive community. So let's get to it!

Who is the woman I admire the most?

The truth is that when I read this question, images of different historical characters that have been relevant in humanity went through my mind; Marie Curie, Sor Juana Inés de la Cruz, Emilie Dickinson, Virginia Wolf, Sofia Coppola, Joan of Arc, Remedios Varo, Alejandra Pizarnik and many, many more great women. I even thought of the women in my family as figures of admiration and pride who have served in my formation. However, I could not help but think of a woman who is undoubtedly one of the women I admire and that is Selena Quintanilla: Selena Quintanilla.

It may seem trite, even boring, to use the figure of a musical star like Selena as one of the women I admire the most. However, there is a reason for all of this. I'll give you a little context as to why for me Selena is not only a great artist but a woman to be admired.

When I was about 8-10 years old I remember a beautiful song constantly playing on the radio. It was in English so I didn't understand anything and I spent years trying to figure out who the person singing was. Years went by, I was about 20-21 years old and I was coming home after a hard day at college. For some reason I was very sad so I started watching videos on Facebook to see what made me laugh. Among the videos I was watching, one caught my attention, it was celebrating 23 years of Selena Quintanilla's departure. It was March 31st. I kept watching the video because I had never paid attention to the singer. It was then when I heard the song that I had been looking for for so many years; I could fall in love. I started to cry. For so many years I wanted to know who the singer was and it turned out that she had died in the cruelest way. I couldn't believe it and I was saddened by this truth for a while.

Then I decided to find out more about her life. Who was she? What did she do? How did she become a singer? What are her songs? What did she do to become so beloved? So I spent a long time researching about her. I listened to her albums, documentaries, Coca Cola commercials, her love for fashion, music, her family. Little by little I understood what Selena meant to many.

Selena Quintanilla was one of the first women of the Tex-Mex music genre and one of the first to triumph internationally and be recognized as one of the best singers of her time. But beyond that, Selena was loved not only for being a beautiful woman and having a beautiful voice but for the quality of person she was. Selena was a kind, noble, cheerful, funny and very correct woman. I had never seen someone as charismatic and natural as she was. I began to feel a great respect and admiration for her because I loved the way she was.

That also had to do with the fact that I considered myself a completely different person from Selena. My vision of life was almost tragic. For those who knew me in the past, they will know that I suffered from depression because of various issues associated with my past. Selena's image was that of someone I wanted to be. Someone with a smile on her face, who gave her best and lived her life to the fullest. And so Selena was, despite her young age she was able to achieve many of the things she wanted and always with a joy, strength and love for everything she did. She was part of my motivation to change as an individual. So, Selena Quintanilla is for me the most admirable woman, because she always showed herself as a human being, without air or pretensions. And it's contradictory because she on more than one occasion admitted that she didn't like to be seen as a role model because like everyone else she had mistakes. And that makes one love her more. Selena Quintanilla will definitely always have a place in my heart, as a woman who has rarely been found.

Thank you so much for stopping by and reading. This writing is also very personal. And although I know that each one of us will have our own special person. I send you a big hug. I hope you all had a beautiful day. Happy Women's Day. I leave you with the link to one of the videos I have made performing one of the songs of Selena y los Dinos.

20220308_221257.jpg

Photo by me

Versión Español

¡Hola a todos! El día de hoy, 8 de Marzo, quiero mandar un fuerte abrazo y felicitaciones a todas las mujeres que hacen vida en Hive. Y como parte de la celebración, este artículo es mi entrada para el Contest #73 de la comunidad Ladies of Hive. Así que ¡Vamos a ello!

¿Quién es la mujer que más admiro?

La verdad es que cuando leí esta pregunta pasaron por mi mente imágenes de diferentes personajes históricos que han sido relevantes en la humanidad; Marie Curie, Sor Juana Inés de la Cruz, Emilie Dickinson, Virginia Wolf, Sofía Coppola, Juana de Arco, Remedios Varo, Alejandra Pizarnik y muchísimas otras grandes mujeres más. Incluso, pensé en las mujeres de mi familia como figuras de admiración y orgullo que han servido en mi formación. Sin embargo no pude dejar de pensar en una mujer que sin duda es de las que las admiro y se trata pues de: Selena Quintanilla.

Puede parecer trillado, incluso aburrido, recurrir a la figura de una estrella musical como Selena como una de las mujeres que más admiro. Sin embargo todo esto tiene una razón de ser. Les pongo un poco en contexto porqué para mí Selena no es solo una gran artista sino una mujer digna de admirar.

Cuando tenía unos 8-10 años recuerdo que en la radio sonaba una canción hermosa constantemente. Era en ingles por lo cual no entendía nada y pase años tratando de saber quién era la persona que cantaba. Pasaron los años, tenía unos 20-21 años y llegaba de casa luego de un fuerte día en la universidad. Por alguna razón estaba muy triste así que me puse a ver videos en Facebook a ver qué cosa me hacía reír. Entre los vídeos que revisaba, uno llamó mi atención, se celebraba 23 años de la partida de Selena Quintanilla. Un 31 de Marzo. Me quedé viendo el video porque nunca le había prestado atención a la cantante. Fue entonces cuando escuche la canción que por tantos años estuve buscando se trataba pues de; I could fall in love. Me eche a llorar. Por tantos años quise saber quién era la cantante y resulta que ella había fallecido de la manera más cruel. No lo podía creer y dure un tiempo triste por esta verdad.

Luego, decidí informarme sobre la vida de ella ¿Quién era? ¿Qué hacía? ¿Cómo se volvió cantante? ¿Cuáles son sus canciones? ¿Qué hizo está mujer para llegar a ser tan querida? Así que estuve un buen rato investigando sobre ella. Me escuche sus discos, documentales, comerciales de Coca Cola, su amor por la moda, la música, su familia. Fui entendiendo poco a poco lo que significó Selena para muchos.

Selena Quintanilla fue una de las primeras mujeres del género musical Tex-mex y una de las primeras en triunfar internacionalmente y ser reconocida como una de las mejores cantantes de su tiempo. Pero más allá de eso, Selena era amada no solo por ser una mujer bonita y tener una hermosa voz sino por la calidad de persona que era. Selena era una mujer amable, noble, alegre, divertida y muy correcta. Nunca había visto ha alguien tan carismática y natural como ella. Empecé a sentir un respeto y admiración muy grande porque amaba su forma de ser.

Eso también tiene que ver por el hecho de que yo me consideraba una persona completamente diferente a Selena. Mi visión de la vida era casi trágica. Para quién me conoció en el pasado sabrá que sufrí de depresión por varias cuestiones asociadas a mi pasado. La imagen de Selena era la de alguien que yo deseaba ser. Alguien con una sonrisa en el rostro, que daba lo mejor de si y vivía su vida al máximo. Y así fue Selena, a pesar de su corta edad pudo lograr muchas de las cosas que deseaba y siempre con una alegría, fuerza y amor por todo lo que hacía. Fue parte de mi motivación para cambiar como individuo. Así que, Selena Quintanilla es para mí la mujer más admirable, porque siempre se mostró como un ser humano, sin aire ni pretensiones. Y es contradictorio porque ella en más de una ocasión admitió que no le gustaba que la vieran como un modelo a seguir porque como todos tenía errores. Y eso hace que uno la quiera más. Definitivamente Selena Quintanilla siempre ocupará un lugar en mi corazón, como una mujer que pocas veces se han encontrado.

Muchísimas gracias por pasar por aquí y leer. Este escrito también es algo bien personal. Y aunque sé que cada uno de nosotros tendrá a su persona especial. Les mando un fuerte abrazo. Espero que todas hayan tenido un día hermoso. Feliz de la mujer. Los dejo con el enlace a uno de los vídeos que he realizado interpretando una de las canciones de Selena y los Dinos.

BANNER CARMINA.jpg