LOH Contest #95: Dealing With Anger (ENG-ESP)

Anger is an emotion that I have heavily dealt with my entire life. As a child, I grew up in a household that was emotionally starved. My father's response to anger was, "Let's not talk about it; we don't want to be upset..." My mother's was, "Stop being angry. I don't have time for this!" I never developed healthy coping methods during childhood, and as a result, I was diagnosed with a mental disorder later on in life known as Borderline Personality Disorder. One of the defining traits of this disorder is "poor control of maintaining emotions... especially anger."

La ira es una emoción con la que he lidiado mucho toda mi vida. Cuando era niño, crecí en un hogar emocionalmente hambriento. La respuesta de mi padre al enojo fue: "No hablemos de eso, no queremos enojarnos..." La de mi madre fue: "Deja de enojarte. ¡No tengo tiempo para esto!". Nunca desarrollé métodos de afrontamiento saludables durante la niñez y, como resultado, me diagnosticaron un trastorno mental más adelante conocido como Trastorno Límite de la Personalidad. Uno de los rasgos definitorios de este trastorno es el "control deficiente del mantenimiento de las emociones... especialmente la ira".


I've never invested into therapy, and I have never taken medication. My healing has come from pure self-control! In fact I take pride in the fact that very little can get me heated nowadays. However, currently my biggest struggle, even after all these years, is people staring at me. I started to become self-conscious in my skin at 15, right around when I began noticing the stares. Then, I started wearing bolder clothing, dying my hair, getting tattoos... All of these things warrant stares, I suppose, but even on days where I try to remain invisible... I wear sweatpants, I don't wear makeup, I sit at the very back of the bus... yet still, stares. Millions of thoughts go through my mind: don't people realize it's rude to stare? Is it because of how I look? Are they attracted, jealous? Is it simply because I am a woman?...

Nunca he invertido en terapia y nunca he tomado medicamentos. ¡Mi curación ha venido del puro autocontrol! De hecho, me enorgullece el hecho de que muy pocas cosas pueden calentarme hoy en día. Sin embargo, actualmente mi mayor lucha, incluso después de todos estos años, es que la gente me mire. Empecé a sentirme acomplejado en mi piel a los 15, justo cuando comencé a notar las miradas. Luego, comencé a usar ropa más audaz, teñirme el cabello, hacerme tatuajes... Todas estas cosas merecen miradas, supongo, pero incluso en los días en los que trato de permanecer invisible... Uso pantalones de chándal, no uso maquillaje. , me siento en la parte trasera del autobús... aún así, mira fijamente. Millones de pensamientos pasan por mi mente: ¿no se da cuenta la gente de que es de mala educación mirar fijamente? ¿Es por cómo me veo? ¿Se sienten atraídos, celosos? ¿Es simplemente porque soy mujer?...


Men, women--it does not matter. I have received every comment under the sun, positive and negative, including a woman who questioned if I was wearing underwear... for wearing a knee-length dress! It bothers me greatly because I cannot live my life; I would love to leave my house without getting anxiety, without being stared at like some zoo animal. It bothers me greatly because I cannot control 7 billion people--should I just tell everyone to stop looking in my direction?! 😅 It bothers me because "feeling eyes on you" is a primal instinct, was a key to our survival; this is not something that can be ignored!

Hombres, mujeres, no importa. He recibido todos los comentarios bajo el sol, positivos y negativos, incluida una mujer que cuestionó si estaba usando ropa interior... ¡por usar un vestido hasta la rodilla! Me molesta mucho porque no puedo vivir mi vida; Me encantaría salir de mi casa sin angustiarme, sin que me miren como un animal del zoológico. Me molesta mucho porque no puedo controlar a 7 mil millones de personas. ¿Debería decirles a todos que dejen de mirar en mi dirección? 😅 Me molesta porque "sentir ojos en ti" es un instinto primario, fue clave para nuestra supervivencia; ¡Esto no es algo que pueda ser ignorado!


So, what can I do? If I cannot ignore it or control it... Well, I accept it! 😅 I accept that people will stare, no matter what or where. I accept that I'm socially attractive. I accept that I have many things that others do not and are envious of (nice face, amazing boyfriend, happy baby, confidence). Most importantly, I accept that others' judgment of me is not a reflection of myself. I do not feel the need to stare at others because I am content with myself and my life; again, that cannot be said for many...

¿Entonces Que puedo hacer? Si no puedo ignorarlo o controlarlo... ¡Pues lo acepto! 😅 Acepto que la gente se quedará mirando, no importa qué ni dónde. Acepto que soy socialmente atractivo. Acepto que tengo muchas cosas que otros no tienen y envidian (cara bonita, novio increíble, bebé feliz, confianza). Lo más importante es que acepto que el juicio de los demás sobre mí no es un reflejo de mí mismo. No siento la necesidad de mirar a los demás porque estoy contento conmigo mismo y con mi vida; de nuevo, eso no se puede decir para muchos...


Now, while there are a few things that make me angry, dealing with my anger is an entirely different story! 😂 When I experience rage, I become a very vicious person... I have snapped, "Can I help you?" if someone's eyes linger for too long. I have screamed, "Move the fuck over!" when people walk too close to me in the streets. Obviously I cannot allow people to manipulate me into reacting in such ways... Nowadays, when I feel it building up, I immediately stop--just stop everything! I take a minute to myself, to step aside and calm down. Sometimes my boyfriend and I vent to one another. Other times I listen to a song or watch a funny video. If it continues to bother me even after the day is done, I will write in my journal.

Ahora, si bien hay algunas cosas que me hacen enojar, ¡lidiar con mi enojo es una historia completamente diferente! 😂 Cuando experimento rabia, me convierto en una persona muy viciosa... He espetado: "¿Te puedo ayudar?" si los ojos de alguien permanecen demasiado tiempo. He gritado: "¡Muévete, carajo!" cuando la gente camina demasiado cerca de mí en las calles. Obviamente, no puedo permitir que la gente me manipule para que reaccione de esa manera... Hoy en día, cuando siento que se está acumulando, detengo inmediatamente, ¡simplemente detengo todo! Me tomo un minuto para mí, para dar un paso al costado y calmarme. A veces, mi novio y yo nos desahogamos. Otras veces escucho una canción o veo un video divertido. Si continúa molestándome incluso después de que termine el día, lo escribiré en mi diario.


Often times it is as simple as stopping to look at my daughter and recognizing how happy she is just to be outside! 😄 I will never let strangers' stares prevent her from experiencing that happiness.

¡Muchas veces es tan simple como detenerse a mirar a mi hija y reconocer lo feliz que es estar afuera! 😄 Nunca dejaré que las miradas de extraños le impidan experimentar esa felicidad.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency