I'm Happy To Say -- I Stayed (LOH Contest #173) [ENG-ESP]

How fitting that this should be this week's question, as I am in an almost identical situation at this moment! Allow me to relive my experience...


¡Qué apropiado que esta sea la pregunta de esta semana, ya que actualmente me encuentro en una situación casi idéntica! Permítanme revivir mi experiencia...




My husband (at the time, my boyfriend) and I had known one another a mere 4 months when I knew I wanted him to be the father of my children. Thankfully the feeling was mutual, and only a few weeks after we had first discussed the idea of children, I became pregnant. Now while I never had to deal with my pregnancy being unwelcomed by my mother-in-law, our current situation has compelled us to live with her while we get our finances in order, and she thankfully has accepted us. It has been less than satisfactory not only because it isn't ideal, but because she "has it out for me."


Mi esposo (en ese momento, mi novio) y yo nos conocíamos apenas hacía 4 meses cuando supe que quería que él fuera el padre de mis hijos. Afortunadamente, el sentimiento era mutuo y sólo unas semanas después de haber hablado por primera vez de la idea de tener hijos, quedé embarazada. Ahora, aunque nunca tuve que lidiar con que mi suegra no aceptara mi embarazo, nuestra situación actual nos ha obligado a vivir con ella mientras ordenamos nuestras finanzas y ella, afortunadamente, nos ha aceptado. Ha sido menos que satisfactorio no sólo porque no es ideal, sino porque ella "me tiene claro".




She is the wicked, evil stepmother from the fairytales.


Ella es la malvada y malvada madrastra de los cuentos de hadas.




My mother-in-law expects me to clean her dishes and cook her meals. She loves to point out "how skinny" I am. She likes telling me that my C-section was "the easy way out" to giving birth. Watching her grandchildren for 10 minutes is the greatest chore in the world. She never puts down her phone. Her response to my second pregnancy was, "😱 -- Don't you guys know how to prevent this from happening?!" as if she had not had 2 babies under 2-years-old herself!


Mi suegra espera que yo lave sus platos y le cocine. Le encanta señalar "lo flaca" que soy. A ella le gusta decirme que mi cesárea fue "la salida más fácil" al parto. Cuidar a sus nietos durante 10 minutos es la mayor tarea del mundo. Ella nunca suelta su teléfono. Su respuesta a mi segundo embarazo fue: "😱 - ¡¿No saben cómo evitar que esto suceda?!" ¡Como si ella misma no hubiera tenido 2 bebés menores de 2 años!




And all of this is done under the guise of ignorance; "I just didn't know! 🤭"


Y todo esto se hace bajo la apariencia de ignorancia; "¡Simplemente no lo sabía! 🤭"




Now my husband and I are not spineless people; he actively endures his mother's passive-aggressive attitude as well. In fact we are quite the opposite; it takes a great deal of strength to constantly bite one's tongue due to dignity, not cowardice. At the same time, how is he expected to improve our situation? He voices his concerns and boundaries the same as myself, but he cannot control his mother. So what should he do -- lose control, and jeopardize our children's home by getting us kicked out? And myself, what am I to do? Leave him in the chaos until he can "financially support us"?


Ahora bien, mi marido y yo no somos gente cobarde; También soporta activamente la actitud pasivo-agresiva de su madre. De hecho somos todo lo contrario; Se necesita mucha fuerza para morderse la lengua constantemente por dignidad, no por cobardía. Al mismo tiempo, ¿cómo se espera que él mejore nuestra situación? Él expresa sus preocupaciones y límites al igual que yo, pero no puede controlar a su madre. Entonces, ¿qué se debe hacer: perder el control y poner en peligro el hogar de nuestros hijos al ser expulsados? Y yo, ¿qué debo hacer? ¿Dejarlo en el caos hasta que pueda "apoyarnos financieramente"?




And what kind of fool would I be if I were to do that, after all of the careful consideration I took into choosing him as my partner, the father of my children, and now husband? Perhaps this week's question is meant to be considered from a superficial relationship in which we feel "love over lust," and some grown adults would base their response on that. I have difficulty relating. My perspective has been shaped from "for better, or for worse" -- it should be noted my husband and I are not legally married, we are not "obligated" to stay together. We simply choose to live like we are. It means I am going to stick with my husband through the terrible circumstances so that we can finally enjoy the wonderful circumstances -- our dreams -- together. It does not mean, "Hey, this is rough, gonna go stay with my mom until you can get your shit together."


¿Y qué clase de tonto sería si hiciera eso, después de toda la cuidadosa consideración que tuve al elegirlo como mi socio, padre de mis hijos y ahora esposo? Quizás la pregunta de esta semana deba considerarse desde una relación superficial en la que sentimos "amor sobre lujuria", y algunos adultos basarían su respuesta en eso. Tengo dificultad para relacionarme. Mi perspectiva se ha formado a partir de "para bien o para mal": cabe señalar que mi esposo y yo no estamos legalmente casados, no estamos "obligados" a permanecer juntos. Simplemente elegimos vivir como somos. Significa que voy a permanecer con mi esposo durante estas terribles circunstancias para que finalmente podamos disfrutar juntos de las maravillosas circunstancias, nuestros sueños. No significa: "Oye, esto es difícil, me quedaré con mi mamá hasta que puedas arreglar tus cosas".




And my children? What kind of parent would I be, to devoid them of a stable home and a vital figure in their lives, because I didn't want to cope with some stress? By accepting my baby, have I not accepted that I will become a parent, thereby accepting that I will have to make sacrifices at my own expense? I can't live as a child forever! How selfish would it be of me? Because I have to deal with an environment that is less than ideal? Because my mother-in-law thinks and says things that I know aren't true? Because I "don't deserve this?" If I were the judge of everything I "don't deserve," I would never have to experience anything unpleasant! 😂 I refuse to prevent my children from being without their father simply because I have emotions.


¿Y mis hijos? ¿Qué clase de padre sería yo, si los privara de un hogar estable y de una figura vital en sus vidas, porque no quería lidiar con algo de estrés? Al aceptar a mi bebé, ¿no he aceptado que me convertiré en padre y, por lo tanto, que tendré que hacer sacrificios por mi cuenta? ¡No puedo vivir como un niño para siempre! ¿Qué tan egoísta sería si yo? ¿Porque tengo que lidiar con un entorno que no es ideal? ¿Porque mi suegra piensa y dice cosas que sé que no son ciertas? ¿Porque "no merezco esto?" Si yo fuera el juez de todo lo que "no merezco", ¡nunca tendría que experimentar nada desagradable! 😂 Me niego a impedir que mis hijos estén con su padre simplemente porque tengo emociones.




It may be argued, "you might feel differently if your partner were spineless and didn't stand up for themselves." Sure I might feel differently; that still wouldn't change our circumstances. I could voice my concerns to him, and if it still didn't change anything, I would just continue to do what I'm currently doing: tune out the bad 😂 It is not forever, and even though I can't control other people and what they do, I can always control how I choose to think and act.


Se podría argumentar: "podrías sentirte diferente si tu pareja fuera cobarde y no se defendiera". Seguro que yo podría sentirme diferente; Eso todavía no cambiaría nuestras circunstancias. Podría expresarle mis preocupaciones y, si aún así no cambiara nada, seguiría haciendo lo que estoy haciendo actualmente: desconectarme de lo malo 😂 No es para siempre, y aunque no puedo controlar a otros. personas y lo que hacen, siempre puedo controlar cómo elijo pensar y actuar.




Perhaps I'm a "square" for still believing in tradition. What it means to be a parent, and most importantly a family, is obviously changing in our time...


Quizás soy un "cuadrado" por seguir creyendo en la tradición. Lo que significa ser padre, y lo más importante, familia, obviamente está cambiando en nuestra época...


(Photo is my own)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency