How many times do I look in the mirror? A Reflection of Ourselves

They say that the mirror can be your friend or your foe. We pride ourselves in our looks and our fabulous demeanour. So how many times do I look in the mirror?

240923016_608333190170877_2918963646401136897_n.png



If I'd ask my younger self that question, I'd say maybe on average of about 28 times or so? I would be checking myself out in the mirror or any reflective surface to see if my makeup is on point or my hair and outfit is on fleek.

As we get older, the time we spend looking at the mirror decreases. Things naturally happen and we get busier. And as time passes, sometimes we don't recognize the person staring back at the mirror anymore.

Who is that person that is staring back at me?
I look at the once smooth face now decorated with gentle smile lines. My skin is slightly tanned now. My hair doesn't have the body it once had. My physique looks different and changes from time to time. I wonder if I took great care of it, like I promised myself time and time again. Sometimes I don't recognize myself anymore.
What we once used for putting on makeup and hair and checking out outfits has now become our friend on the good days and a foe on some bad days.

But ask yourself this: Do we see ourselves for who we really are? Have you looked at yourself in the mirror and appreciate all those curves on your body, those sparkling eyes of yours, your beautiful cheekbones, and your beautiful smile? Have you loved every little imperfection on yourself that makes you unique? Those lines that you've collected over the years are proof of a life well lived, where you were strong and brave in the face of adventure, and the happiness that is now captured from your smiles and laughter.

I was taught that before a big presentation, it is best to practice in front of a mirror. It felt so ridiculous, foreign, silly, and weird. And when I was in that toxic time in my life, I barely even saw myself. I'd use it to put on my eyeliner, concealer, add a bit of gloss and go. But after that phase in my life, I began to see the gaze of my gentle eyes, the soft smile on my lips, and the beauty of my reflection. All those little things that make me ME was staring straight at me. Oh how I missed me!

It took me some time to get to this and it wasn't easy. I was taught by one of my friends to speak my affirmations to myself in the mirror, while looking into my own eyes. Yes it is silly at first but once you say it like you mean it, things will change. Your outlook at attitude will change as well.

I tell myself something like this:
Everything I do, everywhere I go, I prosper. I am beautiful, bold, strong, brilliant, and abundant. I am loved. I am worthy of all that my heart desires.

What affirmations do you tell yourself in the mirror? 🙂

And by the way, currently it's around 8 times. 😉

✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨

A big thank you to @trangbaby for encouraging and supporting me in my blogging. I am grateful for the Hive community for being so supportive in me sharing my stories.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
17 Comments
Ecency