A Bright Day Turned Sour - ...DEAR DIARY... LOH Contest #158

Hello ladies. Hope we are all fine? Happy weekend to us all too. Dear diary, I haven't documented my activities for sometime now but this event on this day.left a sour taste in mouth and so requires taking special note really.

I woke up early as usual. Went to the bathroom, brushed and then head to the kitchen to make a hot coffee ☕ for it has rained heavily last night. At about 7:30AM the delivery man arrived with a package. I was a bit surprised because I know for sure that I had not ordered for anything lately. I took delivery of same, went inside and unwrapped the package. My boss at work decided to throw a surprise at me! A chocolate cake. Wow, that's my birthday cake! I was overjoyed.

I picked up my cellphone and sent him a warm "thank you" message. Then I went in to prepare for work. It was an unusual preparation. I looked for the best apparels and jewelries to match the ocassion. It was my day afterall.

Son, I was ready. I picked up my car key and and made for the door. The car steemed very well and I zoomed off. Upon instinct I decided to pass through my farm area, tomatoes farm. That area used to be waterlogged whenever it rains heavily. My tomatoes was about to fruit. I spent quite much to weed and fumigate it. It is an improved variety which I was trying out to see how viable it'll be.

To my greatest surprise, I saw many cars stuck on the road. The flood was much indeed. I then saw a bulldozer ploughing or rather budozzing a farmland close to my precious tomatoes farm. At first I thought it was a dream. I wiped my eyes with my handkerchief then looked again. They were trying to make way for the water to leave the road.


Source

The water started gushing it. I alighted from my car and went close to have a better view. Yes, it is what it is! The whole water on the waterlogged road sipped in from the nearby farm and emptied in mine. What!!! I was enraged. "Could you please stop that?", I queried. But they wouldn't listen to me. The bulldozer kept doing its thing. I ran mad, literally. In a matter of minutes, my farm was submerged, all the adjacent farms were not spared. All got a fair share of the water.

A man commanding the bulldozer approached me and I introduced himself as the head of works department of the municipal council. He apologized to me and assured me that I and others who own farms within that vicinity will be adequately compensated by the municipal council. I couldn't understand what he was even saying at that moment because I was filled with grief. All my efforts have gone to waste.


Source

My fine day was effectively spoilt. I managed to drag myself to work. Managed to cheer up. Later in the day I went and took snapshots of the damage. Then I wrote the municipal council itemizing my loss. Hmnnn, it may surprise you that nothing came in as compensation. I and others kept writing but all to no avail.

At some point, I gave up. But I have decided to put this down so that whoever sees it will know that the municipal council is still owing me big time. I have alternatively given up planting there.

This is my participation in the weekly Ladies of Hive contest. To find out more please visit the announcement post HERE

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
16 Comments
Ecency