From firewood to stove, to charcoal finally to gas cooker. Looking back to 40 Years. (LOH contest #104)

40 years in not 40 months, is not also 40 weeks or even 40 days. Alot has happened and things can't be the same again.


source

Welcome back to my blog this beautiful day. I love all the ladies of hive community, always keep that in mind.

For this week, I have already made a post looking at 30 years backwards, but I also thought I could do another one since I could still remember what our mothers went through years back. Infact, I was fully part in those experiences and can share a little with the ladies of hive community.

I am only sharing Base on what happened in my own world. Of course it might be different from what other ladies went through or may want to share. Because our environment differs and so our experiences differs to. This is based on my country Nigeria.

For contest #104 the second thought I will be sharing is on this 👇
"40 years ago, what do you remember as a woman -vs- what is happening in the world today. One memory and what the change has been whether positive or negative."

I was just 7 seven back then and I watched my mother always cook with firewood. 👇


This picture belongs to me


This picture belongs to me

We suffered alot then with the smoke that comes out of the woods while cooking with it.


This picture belongs to me.

From there we were introduced to kerosene stove. We were told them that it was the best. You won't have to suffer to make the fire. And when we started using it, it was actually better than firewood.


This picture belongs to me

When we started using, kerosene was still cheap. But when the price of kerosene began to rise, the issue of charcoal pot came up. Some people say that it is the best. Because it won't make the back of your pot dirty and it also cheaper.

This picture belongs to me.
We opted for it and it looks like the best for that moment.

Not too long from when we started using charcoal pot to cook that we heard of gas cooker. We don't know it before that time. But people kept saying that we should not use it because it has burn people's houses. So, because of that fear, we could not use the gas cooker for a long time. But at a time we started using it to cook because all the people around us that were using it have not died or used it to burn their houses.


source

Thank God for technology. Women have actually moved from one stress to another just because we want to make sure everyone eats in the family. But today, we cook within minutes. A woman can start cooking and in 30 minutes her family will eat food because of the fastness of the gas cooker.

From @adaezeinchrist
I am inviting @adaeze and @adael to come share their experiences with the ladies of hive community for the contest this week.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
17 Comments
Ecency