Where are my purple leaves? [ENG/ESP]

PORTADA HIVE concurso ocd (2).png

1.png

On several occasions I have said that I am not very good with plants, so I had no plants at home, but 2 years ago I was given a small plant and I have taken care of it with great affection, since then I have been adding a few friends. Some time ago in the green spaces of my town they have planted a variety of shrubs, I was particularly struck by one whose leaves are purple and I loved them, even more the fact that they are outdoors, no one waters or prunes them, which made me think that they are very resistant and therefore perfect for me.

As the plants are community plants I asked my mother to take some cuttings. I then put them in water, after a few days they had lots of small roots. I proceeded to plant it in a recycled pewter pot, as it has no drainage holes in the bottom I used some stones and then the soil so the roots would not rot. After planting the plant I placed it on the porch of the house and I was very very happy with my plant with purple leaves.


PORTADA HIVE concurso ocd (3).png


As the days went by something unexpected happened. You have heard the phrase "me and Daffy Duck". This is used to indicate that a person has bad luck and unusual things happen to them. Well the beautiful purple leaves of my plant turned green as the days went by, when I realized I was in shock, how can this happen, so I ran to the internet to find out what was going on.


PORTADA HIVE concurso ocd (4).png


I found out that its name is "Cóleo" and they are very popular ornamental plants to have at home because of the variety of colors. They also like a lot of sunlight, if they don't have enough light their beautiful leaves turn green, this is what happened to mine. So I'm going to have to take it out in the yard to get it back to its original color.

However, coleus need natural light to live and give their shades as the characteristic color of these plants is due to a pigment that comes into action with the sun, it even needs more exposure than chlorophyll. The difficult thing is to find the right place for the plant because an excess of sun can become a dehydration but the lack of sun in turn affects the leaves, which cease to show the characteristic and striking color to give way to a green tone almost in the entirety of the leaves Source

The good thing was that I learned about my new plant and how to take better care of it so that it can give me again its beautiful colors. I hope you liked my post and I will continue to tell you about my adventures with plants in the future.

2.png


PORTADA HIVE concurso ocd (5).png



En varias oportunidades he dicho que no soy muy buena con las plantas, por lo que no tenia plantas en casa, pero hace 2 años me regalaron una pequeña planta y la he cuidado con mucho cariño, desde entonces he ido sumando unas cuantas amigas. Hace algún tiempo en los espacios verdes de mi localidad han sembrado una variedad de arbustos, particularmente me llamo la atención uno cuyas hojas son moradas y me han encantado, más aun el hecho de que están a la intemperie, nadie las riega o poda lo que me hizo pensar que son muy resistentes y por lo tanto perfectas para mi.

Como las plantas son comunitarias le pedí a mi madre que tomara algunos esquejes. Luego los puse en agua, a los pocos días ya tenían muchas raíces pequeñas. Procedí a sembrarla en una olla de peltre reciclada, como no tiene agujeros de drenaje en el fondo use unas piedras y luego la tierra para que no se pudran las raíces. Después de sembrar la planta la coloque en el porche de la casa y estaba muy muy feliz con mi planta de hojas moradas .


PORTADA HIVE concurso ocd (3).png


Con el pasar de los días ocurrió algo inesperado. Han escuchado la frase "a mi y al pato Lucas". Esta se utiliza para indicar que una persona tiene mala suerte y le suceden cosas inusuales. Bueno las hermosas hojas moradas de mi planta se tornaron de color verde con el pasar de los días , cuando me di cuenta quede en shock, como puede suceder esto, así que corrí a buscar en internet para saber que estaba pasando.


PORTADA HIVE concurso ocd (4).png


Descubrí que su nombre es "Cóleo" y son plantas ornamentales muy populares para tener en casa por la variedad de colores. Además les gusta mucho la luz solar, si no tienen suficiente luz sus hermosas hojas se tornan color verde, esto fue lo que le pasó a la mía. Entonces voy a tener que sacarla al patio para que recupere su tonalidad.

Sin embargo, los Cóleos necesitan la luz natural para vivir y regalar sus tonalidades pues el característico color de estas plantas se debe a un pigmento que entra en acción con el sol, incluso necesita más exposición que la clorofila. Lo difícil es encontrar el lugar adecuado para la planta pues un exceso de sol puede devenir en una deshidratación pero la falta de sol a su vez incide en las hojas, que dejan de lucir el característico y llamativo color para dar lugar a un tono verde casi en la totalidad de las hojas Fuente

Lo bueno fue que aprendí acerca de mi nueva planta y como cuidarla mejor para que me vuelva a regalar sus hermosos colores. Espero que les haya gustado mi publicación y más adelante seguiré contándoles sobre mis aventuras con las plantas.


Firma Hive .png

1 | 1 | 1 | 1

Gracias por leer, puedes dejar tu voto o comentario si así lo deseas. Todas la imágenes son propias | Portada editada con Canva.com || Thanks for reading, you can leave your vote or comment if you wish. All images are of my property | Cover edited with Canva.com

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency