My Addiction To Coffee & Why I Quit It

So it's been a few months since I quit coffee.

Been a change in the game and I'm enjoying it.

This post isn't about you quitting coffee.

And its not saying I'm quitting permanently.

I just stopped a few months ago out of the blue moon.

Runningandcoffee.jpg
image source

'Why did you quit for bro?'

Well first of all, I just wanted to see if I could.

For a very long period of time, I used to hear about how long it takes to quit stuff.

Whether its coffee, cigarettes, alcohol etc.

During undergraduate, one of the cool things to do was hookah.

The entire squad would go to a local hookah bar & just smoke from the pipes.

At first, this was for joy & socializing.

Later on, we sort of became reliant on it.

We no longer went because we wanted too...

But we went because we felt off if we didn't.

Eventually, the price was becoming too much for a bunch of college kids.

So we all decided to split a hookah and learn how to pack it ourselves.

Hookah is something that literally has no benefits for you.

With wine, there is always some studies coming out about some health benefits.

Same with weed. There is always some study being passed around.

I don't know the validity of these studies nor have I done reserach on it. But I do know these studies exist.

But with hookah?

There is literally no benefit. And I have never seen any studies being passed around talking about any possible pros.

It feels good as you are doing it, and afterwards you feel sluggish and like shit.

The guy's house where we kept the hookah unfortunately suffered the most.

He smoked even after we left. Multiple times throughout the day.

He had gotten very addicted.

A few months passed by & his doctor said that he had tar in his blood.

When he told us that, we were scared as fuck.

The others kept doing it in doses... but I just couldn't view hookah the same.

I stopped touching it and haven't looked back since then.

A certain level of fear gets you acting different.

I noticed 2 pretty big names who don't drink are 50 cent and Donald Trump.

When you ask them why? There is a trauma behind it.

50 cent's uncle was a drunk growing up & that spooked him out.

And Donald Trump's brother died from alcoholism & that spooked him out.

For coffee, I realized I needed it in the morning.

So wanted to see if i could just stop.

And thus far I did.

Overall, in the first few weeks, there were withdrawals. Like a headache and all of that.

However, after the 3rd week, everything went back to normal.

I rarely drink soda, so no caffeine from that.

But overall, its just been water here all day.

This post wasn't really about coffee though.

The main thing you should get away from this post is that you can change rather quickly if your desire is there.

And often fear or curiosity is what sparks that desire.

For me, curiosity was the key for giving up coffee.

A part of me kept asking myself 'can you do it or not?'

But for you, it may be something more drastic.

Like phone addiction, cigarettes and all of that. You may have some hidden fear motivating you.

Consult a doctor to see if you need to ease out of a certain addiction.

But other times, fear or curiosity can do some remarkable things.

Change comes from the internal.

Others can't quit you to stop anything.

That's up to you homie. The force within just needs to be there.

  • Tony Trilli
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency