Winter garden update - Leatherleaf Mahonia

I have two of these Holly like bushes, they were growing side by side but were quickly getting too big and were starting to grow into each other. So I moved one of them and they seem to be more happy with the space. One of them is pretty tall, about six feet and the other is more wide around three or four feet.

Looking forward to the flowers opening and giving my bees a good food source. They open during the late winter or early spring and have a bright lemon yellow color to them.

Hopefully the flowers will turn into berries and I can harvest them to make a jam. I did this a few years ago and tasted great, kind of like cranberries. I cook the berries and strain them to get the juices and then let it cook down into a jam.

Pretty amazed how big one of them has gotten since moving the second plant. I hear they can grow over ten feet tall so its got awhile to go before full height. And being an evergreen it could make a nice privacy barrier.

I may try propagating more of them this summer, I hear cutting off a stem and soaking it in water, then rooting hormone and placing in a pot is enough. It would be cool to line the area where I removed the big trees so I can have an edible bush and some privacy. Since they will never grow as big as the trees it would be nice to have and not worry about crowding like the larger trees caused. The thorns on the leaves would provide good security as well, it reminds me of a holly bush in that way.

One of the few plants that flower this early on in the year I am glad to have it, just hope the birds do not eat all the tasty berries before I can get to them.

LBRY Video Link


Addresses below to help me buy better camera equipment and support me to travel to locations to do photo and video and overall great blogs in new places.

CoinAddress
BTC:bc1qhfmvd2gywg4fvrgy2kkkkyqta0g86whkt7j8r7
LTC:ltc1qdyzm5cwgt8e2373prx67yye6y9ewk0l8jf3ys9
DASH:XkSqR5DxQL3wy4kNbjqDbgbMYNih3a7ZcM
ETH:0x045f409dAe14338669730078201888636B047DC3
DOGE:DSoekC21AKSZHAcV9vqR8yYefrh8XcX92Z
ZEN:znW9mh62WDSCeBXxnVLCETMx59Ho446HJgq

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency