Spring Garden Update - Comfrey

This plant does not give me fruit or any vegetables to eat, and the leaves are not edible for humans raw. But the plant still has many uses in the garden and around a homestead. Unlike humans, many animals can eat the leaves. And the large broad leaves can be used to block weeds from growing up when placed in a pile. Other uses for this plant stem from centuries from medicine use of herbs. But I mostly grow it for its ground cover. And its properties as a "nitrogen fixing" plant meaning it pulls nitrogen and other nutrients from the soil and store in the leaves. Then when the leaves are cut they can be used as a natural fertilizer.

These large fuzzy leaves also provide cover for animals. I have found rabbits and other small mammals hiding under these large leaves, probably to protect themselves from a hawk flying over or some other predator. Maybe it lets them cool off giving them some shade as well. But whatever it is, these plants seem to attract little animals when the growth gets very dense.

I am amazed how quickly these plants grow, I can take leaf cuttings three or more times a year and still have alot left. If you have barn animals that need to be fed this would be a great plant to grow if its compatible with the animal eating it.

The kind of comfrey I got does not multiply by seed, but can expand through underground runners. So far they have mostly just stayed in a cluster but maybe I will find new growth shooting up besides them as the root system expands.

About a dozen of these comfrey plants are in my garden, and happy to have them. For the mentioned reasons and for the flowers they produce as well. Bumblebees will show up and feed on them all summer long and seems to be one of their favorites. Eventually when I have a farm, with animals on it I think I will try growing this. But for now it makes good ground cover and a natural fertilizer.

YouTube Video Link

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency