This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

Autumn garden update - Sweet Potatoes

This year was different compared to the others growing these spuds. I would seem some critters found them and started eating them during the summer. The leaves and the spuds were partially eaten. Though this plant is quite vigorous and I have faith it will still produce.

But this year I do not plan on eating the leaves, since some bugs have been living under them and putting many holes in them I do not want to try them. A mix of these tiny flies and caterpillars ate alot of the leaves.

I will harvest the spuds soon, and hoping they did not all get eaten. I think Chipmunks are the animals eating them. I see them running in and out of the sweet potato patch.

Harvesting the spuds will take place before our first frost. To protect them from the cold and damaging the skin of the spud.

As for the insects, I think my Kale plants attracted a bunch of bugs that munch on plants. When they finished eating the Kale they moved onto my sweet potato leaves.

Though every year I am amazed how many leaves and vines they put out. I could almost hide in the foliage.

Even if the critters eat some of the spuds, I will just save those for next spring and growing more and not eating.

I plan on growing them again next year though I need to find a way to deal with the chipmunks.

Will be doing a follow up post when I harvest the spuds, though I just wanted to give an update on their state at the time of the recording.

I can see some spuds above ground, so next year I will need to add more ground cover on the spuds. This time I will just let them grow and deal with these issues next year. I also need to rebuild the fencing around the patch as it has started rotting after many years of being exposed to the dirt. Thats alright though, I can fix that during the winter.

YouTube Video Link