Preparing to go off the electricity grid.

The rising costs of electricity equals 50% of my salary every month.
464.jpg
These old ceiling light fans are very costly to run and a plan had to be made.

Our monthly electrical bill has tripled and more price increases are on the way. Now as we are not the most well off people in the land, I had to find a way to decrease the usage costs and I took the simple way out.
A full conversion off the grid by the professionals will not only cost an arm and a leg, but the full body warts and all :)
Come and have a look at my plan. (Critics welcome)

The house was fitted with these old ceiling fan lights, that are real electrity guzzlers.

Looks better on the floor doesn't it?
468.jpg

But now what to do with no light and the ugly wires on the ceiling?
Cut them off?
467.jpg

I got us 6 of these LED low voltage lights, one for every room to replace the fan lights.
065.jpg

A nice clean table top surface for my tools and project fanlight replacement started.
469.jpg

Voila, light connected, fitted and a quick wipe.
055.jpg

Looks so much better to me and this will cut our electricity costs drastically.
We also only use the light of a particular room that we are in at night and all of the other lights stay off.
051.jpg

Now here is another electricity cost beater, as I installed a gas operated geyser to operate the bathroom and the kitchen.
The main electrical geyser was simply shut off and bypassed.
Said electrical geyser accounts for 30-40% of the monthly electrical bill and gas is much cheaper.
094.jpg

My idea was to also save up to install Solar power for the lighting and the appliances, not the stove, as it is a gas stove that we bought.
But we are moving out, hopefully soon and the new owner will benefit from it.
It costs a bomb to get a contractor to install the Solar heating, but I would have done the installations of the panels, the piping and the Inverter batteries myself. So we would just have had to pay for the equipment and the copper tubing. I will leave this for the new owners to sort out now.
Such is life!

And That's All friends!

Photos by Zac Smith-All Rights Reserved.

Camera: Canon Powershot SX60HS Bridge camera.

We hope that you have enjoyed the story and the pictures.

Thank you for supporting a post by @papilloncharity

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
87 Comments
Ecency