The purpose of these Plants in my small Garden

IMG_20210803_063403.jpg

Culturing plants is very efficient in our daily lives and daily routine. It's easier for us to grab food to use in cooking and since it's us who are taking care of it. We can make sure that it's healthy by not putting chemical fertilizers in it. It's not for sale in the first place so why hurry in providing it with lots of fruits or vegetables. It's not just filling our bellies with healthy food but also it's healing our anxious thoughts. We're not just having a single benefit from culturing it but more.

IMG_20210803_064225.jpg

I still remember why I decided to make a small garden beside our house. I arrived home and I found how my mother devoured vegetables every day. She said she was feeling healthier by these green plants by sipping soup all the time. I also found out that my sister who cooked for her always asked her neighbors about basic spices added to it. Like lemongrass, moringa, and alugbati (Bisayan word for a leaf vegetable.) Sometimes she's having trouble because there were times she was ashamed to ask and there were times the supply that she bought from the neighbors consumed immediately. That's why it gave me an idea to grow on my own where it can be helpful to my mother and to my sister who is always cooking her food.

My mother is old already, she feels some pain in her limbs, legs, and different parts of her body. She came from the old generation where herbalism helps her in daily healing. She asked me to ask the neighbor about those types of plants. I know them but I never thought it could help her to ease the pain she's feeling by placing or wiping it in the parts where she's troubling. Aside from vegetables, I made sure to plant those types of plants as well because she's using them almost every day when the time comes when she needs them. I may not know its name in English words but I will show you images that will give you an idea if you encountered it before.

IMG_20210803_063535.jpg

Of course, food will be first since it should be prioritized. The image above is what we called "alugbati" in Bisaya word but it's a type of vine that can easily grow outdoors. Even planting it in the not-so-heat environment it can still grow well by watering it every day and cleaning its surroundings. I have no idea what the benefits of it but it has a good smell. It replaces the other smell on the soup by placing a little number of leaves on it. Also, this type of leaf vegetable is slippery and of course, it tastes delicious.

IMG_20210803_063614.jpg

I planted a moringa plant but unfortunately, it died because animals like dogs and cats were passing by and playing inside my small garden. I was still wondering where to plant again since the spot I planted before was not good. That's the time I decided to plant a cabbage first while waiting to plant moringa. Actually, I'm not just referring to the benefits as long as it will not be bad for my mother's health. Since my mother always asks for soup every time she eats. I thought it's better to have more leafy vegetables.

IMG_20210803_063456.jpg

Now, this one is the most important of them all, lemongrass. It's fine not to have those leafy vegetables as long as there's this one. I think most of us know how healthy this one is in our body and you can find it on Google since it's so popular. She kept buying from our neighbor but because of high demand by using it all the time. It's easier to consume it and the supply was in shortage. That's why I planted it personally and planted more to make sure she can get it by the time she needs it in her food.

IMG_20210803_063446.jpg

As you can see in my first image, my garden is just small. It's obvious how limited the plants I could plant but since the herbal plants that my mother uses could be planted everywhere. I planted this type of tree named "kasla or tuba-tuba." Sorry, I couldn't find the English word for this tree but perhaps you recognize it by looking at its leaves. My mother said it's very effective when she's dealing with itching from her veins. Also, sometimes when she's suffering from flatulence. This one is perfect to heal it by just placing it above the fire to make sure it gets heated and place it in the stomach. Also, some who experienced injuries use the leaves of this tree to help the swollen part be removed. It's hard to believe but even I can prove it because I used it before.

IMG_20210803_063522.jpg

Last but not least is this plant named "Gabon." Upon searching in google the popular name of it is "Sambong." but I'm not sure how you recognize this one. I don't know why mother always used it but she's been using it when she's taking a bath by placing it in the water. She said she feels better when the leaves are added to the water. Although, sometimes she also put it in hot water where she drank it sometimes. I don't know much of the details to tell you the truth but she's been doing it for a long time now. I just let her, since she knows more about herbalism compared to me.

I planted these plants for the sole purpose. My mother can use it right away when she needs it and to make sure it's a healthy one. I just wanted to help her with simple things and at the same time make sure she'll feel healthy.

Thank you for reading

All content is my own unless otherwise noted

ABOUT ME

IMG_20210705_135406.jpg

Paul is the name but prefers to be called mrnightmare that feels like living in the dream. A country boy and a dreamboy (dreamer) who likes to stay in a small village even though it means abandoning the future to become a seaman. The passion is writing but not sailing in the vast ocean. Don't wonder if the face will not be shown, this is better where the words can flow smoothly. Come, have fun with me talking about life events and random activities. It's fun to learn about life, don't hesitate, let's figure it out as we continue enjoying staying in this world.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency