Stress Busting - Points of view of an intense personality [EN-ES]

image.png

Greetings to all, I hope you are very well, I want to say thank you first of all to @ecotrain for creating this topic, I already want to read all the posts you share about it, as I am sure that in several of them we can get the right advice to our personalities, things we can try to renew our energies, and move on.

I think that although stress is a general theme in modern life, due to situations such as the pandemic, financial difficulties, and family; But it is also very particular the way in which we carry it, according to our personalities, for example: I consider myself a pragmatic person, I require results, I do not like subjective statements or without basis, so a simple "everything will be fine", instead of encouraging me it bothers me. How everything will be fine? When? Why? That's why religious outlets like just having "Faith", or reading self-help books, don't work for me in particular. However, I admit that in the worst case scenario, it is preferable to have an optimistic ending and hope for the best, than to be upset and bitter. I am happy for anyone who can have that positivity, even if I am not one of them.

My most recent stress triggers and strategies to combat them.

The house of horror

Until recently I had the most stressful job of my life (and I come from a hospitality background, serving and having little time to spend with partners and friends was quite normal in my field of work) But this got completely out of hand, it boiled down to working privately for the owners of a chain of companies, managing the service and kitchen staff in their home, and this was like sealing a return to slavery. I would get calls outside of my working hours at 11pm or 6am asking me questions like: Where are my glasses? Coupled with the almost compulsive demands for food and cleaning, where the (adult) sons of this family did not cooperate at all, I don't mean sweeping and mopping, but things like wiping their hands on the glass table despite having cloth napkins, or not turning down the toilet water after using it.

But the most challenging thing was to go with them to their holiday home, where we worked between 17 and 19 hours a day, for 20 days in a row, the demands were greater, more staff in my charge, not to mention their famous " electric shock", as the workers called the verbal discharges by the owners, although they did not usually give any words of encouragement, but you could expect a tide of complaints for any detail, no matter how small, at any time, in front of any person; In those days there, the only thing I could do as a supervisor was to be the best voltage regulator for my staff, meaning that all the shocks and ironies were received by me, and I transformed them to carry only the necessary message, even though they knew it wasn't sent that way, it was the least I could do for them in those circumstances.

What helped me not to go crazy with stress and worry? Giving thanks, it seems simple but it is not, I began to thank at all times what was solved in my way, it seems incredible but this action was the only one that allowed me to sleep, I remembered everything that was about to fail, but never happened, thanks to the dedication of all, thanks to the universe if you will, thank every little thing that could be a source of conflict but had a solution, a solution that at the time perhaps I could not see, or that sometimes escaped from my hands, but always carried as by fate we got out well.

Something that also helped me to keep my peace of mind, was to write down all the worst things that could happen to me, from thinking that they could shout at me or throw me out, and when I had that list, I would read it and say well if they shout at me I can do nothing, I will listen to them but it is not personal, their anger and lack of control will not affect me, if they throw me out I will go home and that's it, and in that way I could control a large part of the fears that produced my stress.

Of course, when I returned from that trip that almost ended my peace completely, I resigned in calm, and learned a lot about how even what we can't control has a solution.

image.png

Time out

Leaving this job, (which does leave a good bonus, even though it doesn't pay for health and sleep) I returned home, tried to recover, rest, and calm down again; and when I felt ready to try again, the job offers largely stopped, soon the money ran out, and the uncertainty began, because in the end stress is nothing more than imagining scenarios that are out of our control.

Breathing exercises helped me a lot during this time, as it seemed that everything was bothering me and being locked up at home didn't make it any easier, breathing, breathing, and breathing brought me back to calm, this seemed simple and super effective, and then I took it to another level thanks to my partner who has helped me with conscious meditations.

Another good way to manage this time out has been with exercise, workout, or just walking in the mornings, but that has helped me so much, to control my temper, to fill me with energy, and then to think about mental and physical health, and to want to do something good for me every day.

image.png

Tips that didn't work for me, but may work for you:

Painting mandalas, it was a suggestion from a psychologist but unfortunately due to my lack of patience this only generated more frustration.

Sowing, I like nature, but in my grey moments the idea of sowing something didn't transmit enough energy to make me want to do it, and the plants are not to blame for my emotional state.

Don't focus too much on the problem, this part was very very difficult, if not impossible for me, when I seemed to have finally mastered it during the day, at night I only dreamt about it and woke up; So if the same thing happens to you with a problem that you can't let go, every time you are aware that you are torturing yourself with that idea, try to be understanding with yourself and let it go.

This is what I can share with you at the moment, I am still in the process of learning and mastering stress and my emotions, I hope it helps you, I hope it is useful to someone, thank you very much for taking the time to read me, any questions or suggestions you can leave in the comments section and I will gladly answer them.

image.png

Saludos a todos, espero que estén muy bien, quiero decir agradecer antes que nada a @ecotrain por crear esta temática, ya quiero leer todos los post que compartan al respecto , ya que estoy segura de que en varios de ellos podemos conseguir el consejo adecuado a nuestras personalidades, cosas que podamos probar para renovar nuestras energías, y seguir adelante.

Creo que si bien el estrés es un tema general la vida moderna, por situaciones como la pandemia, las dificultades financieras, y familiares; También es muy particular la forma en la que lo llevamos, según nuestras personalidades, por ejemplo: Yo me considero una persona pragmática, requiero de resultados, no me gustan las afirmaciones subjetivas o sin bases, así que un simple “todo va a estar bien”, en vez de animarme me molesta. ¿Cómo todo estará bien? ¿Cuándo? ¿Por qué? Es por ello que salidas religiosas como solo tener “Fe”, o leer libros de autoayuda, a mí en lo particular no me sirven. No obstante admito que en el peor de los casos, es preferible tener un final siendo optimista y esperando lo mejor, que estando molesto y amargado. Me alegro por todo el que puede tener ese positivismo, aunque yo no sea una de ellos.

Mis detonantes más recientes de estrés y las estrategias para combatirlos.

La casa del horror

Hasta hace poco tuve el trabajo más estresante de mi vida (y yo vengo del área de hotelería, servir y tener poco tiempo para estar con parejas y amigos bastante normal en mi campo laboral) Pero esto se fue completamente de mis manos, se resume en trabajar a nivel privado para los dueños de una cadena de empresas, dirigiendo al personal de servicio y cocina en su casa, y esto fue como sellar la vuelta a la esclavitud. Recibía llamadas fuera de mi horario laboral como a las 11pm o a las 6 am para preguntarme cosas como: ¿Dónde estaban sus lentes o sus llaves?, Aunado a la exigencias de comida y limpieza casi compulsivas, en donde los hijos (adultos) de esta familia no colaboraban en nada, no me refiero a barrer y fregar, sino a cosas como limpiarse las manos en la mesa de vidrio pese a tener servilletas de tela, o a no bajar el agua del W.C después de usarlo.

Pero lo más desafiante fue, ir con ellos a su casa vacacional, allí trabajamos un periodo entre 17 y 19 horas diarias, durante 20 días seguidos, las exigencias eran mayores, más personal a mi cargo, sin contar con sus famosos corrientazos, así llamaban los trabajadores a las descargas verbales por parte de los dueños, si bien acostumbraban a dar ninguna palabra de aliento, si podías esperar una marea de reclamos por cualquier detalle por ínfimo que fuese , en cualquier momento, frente a cualquier persona; En esos días allá lo único que podía hacer como supervisora, era ser el mejor regulador de voltaje para mi personal, eso quiere decir que todas las descargas e ironías eran recibidas por mí, y yo las transformaba para llevar solo el mensaje necesario, aunque ellos sabían que no era enviado de esa manera, era lo menos que podía hacer por ellos en esas circunstancias.

¿Qué me ayudo a no enloquecer de estrés y preocupaciones? Dar las gracias, parece simple pero no lo es, comencé a agradecer en todo momento lo que se solventaba en mi camino, parece increíble pero esta acción era la única que me permitía dormir, recordaba todo lo que estuvo a punto de fallar, pero jamás paso, gracias a la dedicación de todos, gracias al universo si se quiere, agradecer cada pequeña cosa que pudo ser motivo de conflicto pero tuvo una solución, una solución que al momento quizás no podía ver, o que a veces escapaba de mis manos, pero siempre llevado como por el destino salimos bien librados.

Algo que también me ayudo a conservar mi paz mental fue escribir todo lo peor que podía pasarme, desde pensar en que podían gritarme o botarme, y cuando tenía esa lista, la leía y decía bueno si me gritan no puedo hacer nada, la escuchare pero no es personal, su ira su descontrol no me afectaran, si me botan me iré a mi casa y ya, y de esa forma pude controlar gran parte de los miedos que producían mi estrés.

Por supuesto, al volver de ese viaje que casi acaba con paz por completo, renuncie en calma, y aprendí mucho sobre como incluso lo que no podemos controlar tiene solución.

image.png

Tiempo fuera

Saliendo de este trabajo,(que si dejo un buen bono, pese a que no paga la salud y el sueño) retorne a mi casa, intente reponerme descansar, y volver a calmarme; Y cuando me sentí lista para reintentar, las ofertas laborales cesaron en gran medida, pronto el dinero se acababa, y empezó la incertidumbre, porque al final el estrés no es más que imaginar escenarios que están fuera de nuestro control.

Para este tiempo me ayudaron mucho los ejercicios de respiración, ya que parecía que todo me molestaba y estar encerrada en casa no lo hace más fácil, respirar, respirar, y respirar me devolvió la calma, esto me pareció sencillo y súper eficaz, y luego lo lleve a otro nivel gracias a mi pareja que me ha ayudado con meditaciones conscientes .

Otra buena forma de manejar este tiempo fuera ha sido con el ejercicio, cardio, pesas, o solo caminar en las mañanas, pero eso me ha ayudado tanto, a controlar mi temperamento, a llenarme de energía, y entonces a pensar en la salud mental y física, y querer hacer cada día algo bueno por mí.

image.png

Consejos que a mí no me funcionaron, pero puede que a ustedes si:

Pintar mandalas, fue una sugerencia de un psicóloga pero lamentablemente por mi falta de paciencia esto solo me generaba más frustración.

Sembrar, me gusta la naturaleza, pero en mis momentos grises la idea de sembrar algo no me transmitía suficiente energía como para querer hacerlo, y las matitas no tienen la culpa de mi estado emocional.

No te enfoques demasiado en el problema, esta parte se me hizo muy muy difícil, por no decir imposible, cuando parecía que por fin lo había dominado durante el día, en la noche solo soñaba con esto y me despertaba; Así que si te pasa lo mismo con un problema que no puedes dejar ir, cada vez que seas consciente que te estas torturando con esa idea, intenta ser comprensivo contigo mismo y déjalo ir.

Esto es lo que puedo compartir en este momento con ustedes, aún estoy en proceso de aprendizaje y dominio del estrés y de mis emociones, espero que les sirva, que a alguien les sea de utilidad, muchas gracias por tomarte el tiempo de leerme, cualquier duda o sugerencia me la puedes dejar en la sección de comentarios y con gusto te la responderé.

Todas las fotos son de mi propiedad / All photos are my property
Banner by @fanyokami

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency