ecoTrain QOTW Season 7 #4: What Do You Need To Let Go Of?

A new week, a new question for members of the @ecotrain community. Since I became part of this community, I haven't missed one weekly question. I'm looking forward to it in order to share my opinion, but also to read other people's posts and their thoughts on a given question (topic).

image.png

Every week more and more interesting questions ... But. This is a question I've been thinking about most of my life.

5s4dzRwnVbzGY5ssnCE4wXzkeAEXyVtgk1ApQTwHMTp6y5PvEo1yenn9LD6JgZMzD63bPbSvXEi4qJJghxhSEeHMnXJceJydWzUYuivAUZ9dE5fWNbNp9izguoMgFvNq6DRVWM6u2Dcz6RVGHAEyMG4EotxPxDhq4Cwd4Qe.jpg

Photo credit: @ecotrain


How often have you thought about yourself, about your personality? About your flaws and virtues, the good and bad sides of your personality? My answer to this question would be "At least once a week, every week". How many times have you felt like there was a creature living inside you that creates all those bad feelings? My answer is "Often, very often." And I fight with that creature every day, but it seems to have some superpowers and every time it overpowers me more and more.

image.png

One of the entries here inspired me to make my own "List of things I need to let go of", for the first time.
So here are the things (there is no rule of order in which things are enumerated):

1. Dependency on social media
2. Lazy habits that are holding me back
3. Unrealistic exceptation
4. Procrasting on important things
5. Fear of failure
6.Insecurities
7. The idea of perfect life

So now that I've listed some of the things, and there are probably more, let's work on each one individually.

image.png

1. Dependency on social media

Well ... I said that I didn't sort things by any principle on the list, but I can say that all the following things on the list may come from this thing. I would catch myself spending hours and hours on social media. Every time some other things interest me. At the moment, my home pages on Facebook, Instagram, YouTube, Pinterest are flooded with pictures of k-pop idols that I have been obsessed with for the last year and a half. Well, that's not a problem. The problem is that I was starting to follow a lot of random people (it was interesting to me at the time). Now it is not enough to say that all these people make me very nervous and affect my negative mood. From time to time I would unfollow 200-300 random people that I followed and who are absolutely not a part of my life in any way. Total strangers. I have changed a lot in the past years, so my use of social networks has adapted to that. The biggest problem is that I would run away from social networks. I did it once for 2 weeks and I really enjoyed it. But I have to admit I missed it. I wanted to do it again, but something doesn't allow me to do it. Probably it is dependency on social media. I have to work on it and get rid of dependency.

image.png

image.png

image.png

2. Lazy habits that are holding me back

Ah lazy habits... Tell me there is a person who doesn't have lazy habits (I like to comfort myself with this sentence and soften the seriousness of this fact ahaha). Well, it can be said that just the things above are one of them. I think I’ve been struggling with my lazy habits ever since I know for myself. Let's say from elementary school. And worst of all, I don't even think there is any progress, but as if I'm going backwards in trying to get rid of them. Can my eternal need for sleep be included here? This is what bothers me most often and what my parents no longer believe in. They think that this is my solution when I don't want to do anything, just to be lazy - "Let's go to bed 2-3h". Maybe it's some force majeure that causes chronic drowsiness in moments when obligations are ahead of me.

image.png

Well, lest I turn out to be excusing myself, I openly tell everyone that my biggest minor is laziness. It is my BIGGEST monster that rules me. I’ve worked on this so many times, like on some kind of project. I tried and tried in various ways to force myself to fulfill my obligations, but then laziness would ensure that it would overcome all that.

image.png

3. Unrealistic exceptation & 7. The idea of perfect life

Okay, I know ... Life is not perfect. Life is not just beautiful moments, positive things. Life is both ugly things and sad moments.This is due to the fact that I easily give up things from which I do not see results immediately. For example, I would motivate myself to want to train every day, so that I would first of all get back in shape, but also make my body more beautiful and handsome. That would keep me going for a maximum of 2 weeks and when I don’t see results I give up and just be willingnes.

The same thing would happen when I study. If one day my studies didn't go well and I didn't concentrate on that, I would give up in the following days. It takes me so little to demotivate myself, and so much time to find the least motivation. It is obvious that I have a problem with that and that I have to learn to deal with the fact that things do not always go as we planned. My problem is that I get depressed and I can't deal with bad things at the moment they happen.

image.png

image.png

image.png

4. Procrasting on important things

Another thing I’ve been doing my whole life. I think this annoys everyone around me, especially my mother. She warns me about it every time. I’ve been “burned” so many times because of this. They say that one learns from mistakes, but in my case it's not like that.

I would often put myself in a stressful situation because of that. Would I be able to do something? Would I be able to prepare for the exam? Would I be late somewhere? All this was caused by my laziness and the attitude "There is time for everything". I have a habit of doing things in the last minute.

In my head I make a great time sheduled when what to do to finish each of my commitments on time. But in reality ... I'm afraid it won't happen to me right now. One of the most important things for me at the moment is to enroll in the next and last year of college. I need to collect points for enrollment in the next year. I made a plan for everything. I have the exams in a little over 3 weeks. If I start learning now, I could do it absolutely without stress and learn a little bit every day and prepare everything I need by that date. But when do you think I'm really going to start studying? I sincerely hope it will be tomorrow. But ... I don't promise.

image.png

image.png

5. Fear of feilure & 6. Insecurities

One more thing on the list ... Do you have as many of them as I do? Less? More than me? Should I mitigate this and say that I think this is inherent in every human being? Fear of failure? Um, let's just say I won't. I'll admit it. I am a pessimist. My mother tells me that in 99% of cases I see bad in everything? It often affects self-esteem.

Oh, didn't I deviate from the topic? I hope not. I will give my example which again concerns the faculty.

If I were preparing for an exam and didn't pass about 70% of the given book or material we are learning, I wouldn't appear for the exam. Why? I would be afraid that the professor would ask me a question from one of those chapters that fall into the 30% that I didn’t learn. If I failed the exam, I would experience it as my defeat and transfer of shame. I am too strict with myself and at the beginning I refuse to accept some things as they are and to take the exam for luck, for example. Well ... We never know how something can end, good or bad for us.

image.png

image.png

Honestly, I am glad that with this post I was able to share my battles that I am fighting with myself. Tell me, what you need to let go of? Can we be allies in the fight against some things on our lists? Also, tell me if you won yourself in one of your battles and in what way.

Every week more and more interesting questions ... But. This is a question I've been thinking about most of my life.

5s4dzRwnVbzGY5ssnCE4wXzkeAEXyVtgk1ApQTwHMTp6y5PvEo1yenn9LD6JgZMzD63bPbSvXEi4qJJghxhSEeHMnXJceJydWzUYuivAUZ9dE5fWNbNp9izguoMgFvNq6DRVWM6u2Dcz6RVGHAEyMG4EotxPxDhq4Cwd4Qe.jpg

Photo credit: @ecotrain


How often have you thought about yourself, about your personality? About your flaws and virtues, the good and bad sides of your personality? My answer to this question would be "At least once a week, every week". How many times have you felt like there was a creature living inside you that creates all those bad feelings? My answer is "Often, very often." And I fight with that creature every day, but it seems to have some superpowers and every time it overpowers me more and more.

image.png

One of the entries here inspired me to make my own "List of things I need to let go of", for the first time.
So here are the things (there is no rule of order in which things are enumerated):

1. Dependency on social media
2. Lazy habits that are holding me back
3. Unrealistic exceptation
4. Procrasting on important things
5. Fear of feilure
6.Insecurities
7. The idea of perfect life

So now that I've listed some of the things, and there are probably more, let's work on each one individually

image.png

1. Dependency on social media

Well ... I said that I didn't sort things by any principle on the list, but I can say that all the following things on the list may come from this thing. I would catch myself spending hours and hours on social media. Every time some other things interest me. At the moment, my home pages on Facebook, Instagram, YouTube, Pinterest are flooded with pictures of k-pop idols that I have been obsessed with for the last year and a half. Well, that's not a problem. The problem is that I was starting to follow a lot of random people (it was interesting to me at the time). Now it is not enough to say that all these people make me very nervous and affect my negative mood. From time to time I would unfollow 200-300 random people that I followed and who are absolutely not a part of my life in any way. Total strangers. I have changed a lot in the past years, so my use of social networks has adapted to that. The biggest problem is that I would run away from social networks. I did it once for 2 weeks and I really enjoyed it. But I have to admit I missed it. I wanted to do it again, but something doesn't allow me to do it. Probably it is dependency on social media. I have to work on it and get rid of dependency.

image.png

image.png

image.png

2. Lazy habits that are holding me back

Ah lazy habits... Tell me there is a person who doesn't have lazy habits (I like to comfort myself with this sentence and soften the seriousness of this fact ahaha). Well, it can be said that just the things above are one of them. I think I’ve been struggling with my lazy habits ever since I know for myself. Let's say from elementary school. And worst of all, I don't even think there is any progress, but as if I'm going backwards in trying to get rid of them. Can my eternal need for sleep be included here? This is what bothers me most often and what my parents no longer believe in. They think that this is my solution when I don't want to do anything, just to be lazy - "Let's go to bed 2-3". Maybe it's some force majeure that causes chronic drowsiness in moments when obligations are ahead of me.

image.png

Well, lest I turn out to be excusing myself, I openly tell everyone that my biggest minor is laziness. It is my BIGGEST monster that rules me. I’ve worked on this so many times, like on some kind of project. I tried and tried in various ways to force myself to fulfill my obligations, but then laziness would ensue that would overcome all that.

image.png

3. Unrealistic exceptation & 7. The idea of perfect life

Okay, I know ... Life is not perfect. Life is not just beautiful moments, positive things. Life is both ugly things and sad moments.This is due to the fact that I easily give up things from which I do not see results immediately. For example, I would motivate myself to want to train every day, so that I would first of all get back in shape, but also make my body more beautiful and handsome. That would keep me going for a maximum of 2 weeks and when I don’t see results I give up and be willless.

The same thing would happen when I study. If one day my studies didn't go well and I didn't concentrate on that, I would give up in the following days. It takes me so little to demotivate myself, and so much time to find at least the least motivation. It is obvious that I have a problem with that and that I have to learn to deal with the fact that things do not always go as we planned. My problem is that I get depressed and I can't deal with bad things at the moment they happen.

image.png

image.png

image.png

4. Procrasting on important things

Another thing I’ve been doing my whole life. I think this annoys everyone around me, especially my mother. He warns me about it every time. I’ve been “burned” so many times because of this. They say that one learns from mistakes, but in my case it is such a not case.

I would often put myself in a stressful situation because of that. Would I be able to do something? Would I be able to prepare for the exam? Would I be late somewhere? All this was caused by my laziness and the attitude "There is time for everything". I have a habit of doing things at the last minute.

In my head I make a great time sheduled when what to do to finish each of my commitments on time. But in reality ... I'm afraid it won't happen to me right now. One of the most important things for me at the moment is to enroll in the next and last year of college. I need to collect points for enrollment in the next year. I made a plan for everything. I have the exams in a little over 3 weeks. If I start learning now, I could do it absolutely without stress and learn a little every day and prepare everything I need by that date. But when do you think I'm really going to start studying? I sincerely hope it will be tomorrow. But ... I don't promise.

image.png

image.png

5. Fear of feilure & 6. Insecurities

One more thing on the list ... Do you have as many of them as I do? Less? More than me? Should I mitigate this and say that I think this is inherent in every human being? Fear of failure? Um, let's just say I won't. I'll admit it. I am a pessimist. My mother tells me that in 99% of cases I see black in everything? It often affects self-esteem.

Oh, didn't I deviate from the topic? I hope not. I will give my example which again concerns the faculty.

If I were preparing for an exam and didn't pass about 70% of the given book or material we are learning, I wouldn't appear for the exam. Why? I would be afraid that the professor would ask me a question from one of those chapters that fall into the 30% that I didn’t learn. If I failed the exam, I would experience it as my defeat and transfer of shame. I am too strict with myself and at the beginning I refuse to accept some things as they are and to take the exam for luck, for example. Well ... We never know how something can end, good or bad for us.

image.png

image.png

Honestly, I am glad that with this post I was able to share my battles that I am fighting with myself. Tell me, what you need to let go of? Can we be allies in the fight against some things on our lists? Also, tell me if you won yourself in one of your battles and in what way.

image.png
image.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency