"WHAT IS BEAUTY?" (ecoTrain QOTW 7: #3)

IMG_20201112_203511_643-01.jpeg



The word "beauty" can often be inadvertently stereotypical. Howbeit; beauty is something that sparks beyond our five senses, from what is physically attractive to what is mentally sensual. In my existence, I've totally experienced a lot of things that I can attribute the characteristics of beauty. This is why I feel and believe that beauty is an impression and not just a person or gender. In my perspective, I see beauty as a feeling of satisfaction derived from an experience that feels rather inexplicable.

When a person experiences the feeling of unconditional love, it brings a feeling of beauty. There was this girl I use to know in low school, I hated her existence because she was smarter than me, however, she was often of the opinion that I was smarter, and I just didn't know. Her endless attempt to get me to appreciate myself didn't end well, she never gave up, by the time we had finished low school I could hear her voice in my head, I could see her smiles, her continuous striving to get me to be friends, her kind gestures made me see life rather differently and through my teenage years, I could hear her voice in my head whenever I felt inferior in any circumstance.


20210601_103410-02.jpeg


It wasn't physical attraction; there was this beautiful feeling she brought. It felt like truly being alive.... like experiencing an impression of perfection. Now beauty isn't just seen, though our sense of sight often dominate our other senses and this is why beauty can be stereotyped. Does this mean someone blind cannot experience a feeling of beauty? No!, Of course they can. Our other senses can feel it, for example enjoying a warm bath or listening to soothing music, feeling the warmness of glinting sands, crumbling under your feet, getting off a hospital bed and finally feeling the sun on your face.

However, we can't underestimate the physical allures of the opposite sex, and this often leaves an impression. That adrenaline rush, the way we're taken away when we see a man or woman coming off in their strides, the way we often associate the surrounding environment to how they look, the way our eyes unravels their mysteries. The cause of attraction is one of the reasons why we see beauty. Our abilities to associate or compare physical attraction to an inexplicable yearning or desire inside us. Truth is, everyone comparatively and uniquely have a distinct perspective of what beauty is. But then there are things in life that everyone will generally associate beauty to and this mean that we can be generally and specifically wired to tap into a definition.


20210606_173835-01.jpeg


At the end of the day, no one can generalize the concept of beauty, however our distinctive definition all together in one proves that beauty is not stereotypical. Another thing is, attraction is not synonymous with beauty. It's only a characteristic. Sometimes what we deem beautiful might not see us as beautiful as well. This is why beauty can be a one-way perception When we associated beauty with something, sometimes we cannot explain it and this is why they say "beautiful is in the eye of the beholder". But then It's not just about the "eye". In my own way, I'll say beautiful is in the "perception" of the beholder because it spans beyond the eyes, the words and the sense, sometimes its more divine, a feeling beyond expression.

In my point of view, I see beauty as something that imbues an inexplicable feeling of awe in me. Changes my balance and leaves me in wonder. This is for anything and expressed beyond physical attraction. Love makes us see beauty in something. I mean, when we feel unconditional love towards something, sometimes it could be because we have associated beauty to it. However, I can go on and on. But then the perspective of everyone towards beauty is totally correct, but not completely defined. This means that we can partially define beauty, but we cannot completely define it because it spans from our perspective, our existence and even our experiences.





All Images Owned by Me



Interested in some more of my works?

DeFi In The Nigerian Space; Controlling Finances You Can Understand?
Understanding Cyclical Responsibility; Making A Case Scenario (3Speak)
Comparing Asians & African Food; What Determines The Unique Eating Habits Of Most Nigerians?
The Stench Of Change (An Original Poetry)
Some Of The Most Unique Things About Schooling & Living In Lagos State Nigeria


IMG_20210621_075339_422.jpg


My name is @Josediccus, a young Nigerian entrepreneur who is a Vlogger, A Psychologist, Poet, Sports Writer/Analyst & Personal Finance Coach. I'm using my contents as a process to create shared meaning as well as create expressions through which people on/off hive can relate. I believe content is a process to be enjoyed and relished and I'm up for any collaborations in my field stated above. Cheers


@Josediccus, your brother-in-pen & heart


I'm hoping to reach more people who are broken at heart and spirit, so share on any platform or reblog


My Twitter handle

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency