ecoTrain QOTW #20 : What is is about music?

images (2).jpeg

Image source


Music might be a combination of musical instruments and vocals to produce melody at least, but then to humanity, to people in general, music is more irrespective of language, tongue or culture, music can uniquely touch or Influence people differently, create in them diverse emotions and of course connect to people mentally, spiritually, physically or even or a higher plane. When I was younger I listened a lot to Awilo Logomba, he is a Congolese musician who sang in French he was quite popular in early 2000s I think I was about 5 or 6 years then, his music sold all over Africa and the world. For me and a lot of kids back then, we listened to one particular track called Gâté le coin and that track was usually played every Christmas time, it was like listening to silent night sung on Christmas carols or listening to Long Time Ago in Bethlehem, there was a festive mood or feeling that listening to Gâté le coin brings and despite not knowing or understating anything in french, it proved that music can be universal language with which people despite their diversity can find a common ground.


Gâté le coin by awilo brought a festive emotion

We Place Symbols And Meaning To Music...

Music can be symbolic and as humans we are uniquely wired to derive symbols from Music and place them to/in real life experiences in 2013 there was this girl I fell in love with, she was my first love and back then we had a song we both listened to it was Westlife's Queen of my heart, back then she would change the lyrics to "king of my heart" and we would both listen to it endlessly to the extent that it became a song that symbolises the essence of the love we shared, anywhere I heard the song it was her that was at the back of my mind. When we broke up, it was difficult for me to listen to the song maybe whenever it pops on the TV or radio I would literarily shed tears and bring back memories of the times we spent together and because of the pain it caused me I banned such a beautiful song from my playlist simply because it was like a symbol of heartbreak and I had related it to my real life experience


images (3).jpeg

Image source

Music Brings Diverse Emotions In Different People...

So while Queen of my heart signified pained and brought a chaotic emotion to me to another person it can symbolise peace and tranquility while to someone else it might just help them sleep better at night or help them meditate and reflect on life. Music can become that saving grace especially when we think we have lost it all, it might not literary "save you" but one thing is, the power of words can easily Influence people to gather their hope and move on with life despite the difficulty and strife. R-kelly's Storm is Over was such a song. To some aspect of Christiandom it was a song with gospel lyrics and brings a "Christian-like" feeling of the time Jesus calmed a storm. But then in general people felt hope listening to it and it was delightful. In 98, I was exposed to listening to Lighthouse family's High and it became the best song of my young years. It was naturally soul by genre and it was s song that depicted hope after a turbulence but then I remember "St Moritz" a cigarette brand in Nigeria as at then using the song High by Lighthouse Family as an advert in 2001 to bring a feeling of being high to their numerous customers that consumes cigarette, so while some people felt "high" like "caffeine high" others felt a diverse and seperate emotion of satisfaction.


Here's Lighthouse's Family's High

Listening to music is something that goes beyond physical for me, it brings out a specific expression of creativity and often I find myself specifically drowned in thoughts, imaginations, fantasies and different possibilities. Death is something that of course makes me curious and most times I try to portray it in my work of arts. One of such songs that paints death in a very fascinating and fearful light are two songs titled Onye kwere ekwe and alaeze ya by patty Obasi it was an indigenous Igbo song of South Eastern Nigeria that depicted death in a unique way and most times when I listen to it, I don't want to live a careless life, I don't want to live in transgression. It ignited in me a very solemn and sombre feeling at brings out a sense of spiritual morality


You can listen here and let me know what you think, this is ala eze and onye kwere by patty Obasi

I'm a very creative person and most times I listen to songs that touches a metaphysical aspect of me and that's why I use to write tradedy. While I mostly listen to the melody and the lyrics, sometimes I find myself acting differently and being influenced to an extent which is even strange and new to me. I discovered that my life reflects most songs I listen to. As I grew up, I became more Conscious to the effect of music, tapping in to the aspect that relates more to human experience while also enjoying the essence because before we can begin to communicate to music on a higher level, first of all we must enjoy it

I must say, I don't know how music dates back but then just the combination of some musical instruments can bring that desired effect. I mean music expands more than we actually know and sometimes the vibe, the entertainment and the glee it brings can be really beyond natural. Sometimes music is the language we speak when we're depressed, hurt, pained or even excited. When we listen to songs it could be our way of dealing with life in general. It could be our way of entertaining or uplifting ourselves and even more. In some many circumstances I see music as an escape because mostly stress and fatigue can be taken away and it helps us heal in many angle. Music is a human expression of art and everyone relates to this.





Interested in some more of my works?

The Creator/Consumer: What Are The Metrics, The Diversification And The Similarities?
Understanding Egotistic And Ambiguously Confused People And How They Can Undermine Our Relevance. What Effect Can This Bring Us?
The Circumstances Behind Unwarranted Expressiveness; Are We As Humans Under-expressive Or Overly Expressive?
The Unique Spending Habit Of An Average Or Low Income Nigerian Earner.... (The Money Way)
A Sad Sud Song. (An Original Poetry)
Why Is It Difficult To Start Again When Your Chances Of Success Becomes Too Slim? (3speak Version)


00000PORTRAIT_00000_BURST20200911180640714-02.jpeg


My name is @Josediccus, a young Nigerian student who is a Vlogger, A Psychologist, Poet And Sports Writer/Analyst. I'm using my contents as a process to create shared meaning as well as create expressions through which people on/off hive can relate. I believe content is a process to be enjoyed and relished and I'm up for any collaborations in my field stated above. Cheers


@Josediccus, your brother-in-pen & heart


I'm hoping to reach more people who are broken at heart and spirit, so share on any platform or reblog


My Twitter handle

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency