ecoTrain Question Of The Week #19: What are you addicted to and how does it help or hinder you? | [ENG/ESP]

Since I was a child my mother taught us to drink coffee very early in the morning, it was a ritual that was fulfilled every day, she of course was not aware of the addictive power of that tasty bitter liquid. Getting up and drinking coffee were two activities that were done almost simultaneously.

This is how I grew up, always accompanied by my morning cup of coffee. When I was twelve years old, I had to go and live at an aunt's house. She was not used to drinking coffee in the morning, so I had to go to the high school where I studied without my daily ration of caffeine. Soon I began to feel the effects of abstinence, spending almost every morning with severe headaches and nausea. The worst part was that I had no idea what was causing this discomfort. So I spent about four months and finally the symptoms disappeared.

That early experience with addiction marked me and made me realize how important it was to stay in control, since then I have fought hard to try not to be dependent on any substance or situation. Sometimes I have been successful and sometimes not so successful.

coffee2714970_550.jpg

With food and drinks I have not created habits of addiction, I like a lot of sweets and chocolate, but if I have them I enjoy them and if not, then it's okay. The same happens with coffee or alcohol. If I'm offered a cup of coffee I'll drink it with pleasure, just like a beer, but if there aren't any, the world won't fall apart because of that.

With my emotions, it has been more difficult. I have had to deal all my life with a tendency to worry about others, to magnify problems, and to let those thoughts take up my mental space. As a result of that behavior I have felt moments of great tiredness and exhaustion.

Thanks to the recommendations of friends, I have been getting in touch with yoga and meditation, and with these two activities I have managed to keep my worries from taking over. I would lie to you if I told you that I do not have episodes where I feel anguished by any daily problem, but the important thing is that I realize in time and I start with the activities that manage to clear my mind, I hear music, I walk, I meditate, I do some muscular stretching, and step by step the anguish is disappearing.

cigarros550.jpg

I know of two cases of people very close to me where I have been able to see the effect of addictions. One is my wife, she has a big addiction problem with cigarettes. There is no way she can quit, she is doing her best to lower her consumption, but she cannot stop smoking. That dependence on her creates a great economic difficulty for us. With the money she spends on cigarettes we could buy better food, but there is no way, she can stop eating but not smoking.

The other case I know of is that of a neighbor. Her son is addicted to cocaine. In order to keep the habit going, the boy has gone to the extreme of selling her all his appliances, televisions, radios, blenders, everything he can. On several occasions he has managed to get him into rehabilitation centers for addicts, but so far nothing has worked. Her life with this addicted son is a living hell.

I believe that the possibility of us falling into an addiction has a lot to do with how we have managed to develop our personality. There are people who, for different reasons, are easily manipulated by their environment, give in to group pressure, and step by step develop addictions. We must always be very alert to anything that makes us lose control. No one can say that they are safe from becoming an addict.

This is my entry for the challenge proposed by @ecotrain, in this week we were invited to share our opinions about addictions. To know the bases click on this link

Thank you for your time.

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

Spanish

Desde muy pequeño mi madre nos enseñó a tomar café muy temprano en la mañana, era un ritual que se cumplía cada día, ella por supuesto no estaba consciente del poder adictivo de ese sabroso líquido amargo. Levantarse y tomar café eran dos actividades que se hacían casi en simultáneo.

Así fui creciendo, siempre acompañado de mi taza de café matutina. Al llegar a los doce años tuve que irme a vivir donde una tía, ella no acostumbraba tomar café por la mañana, así que me tocaba irme al liceo donde estudiaba sin mi ración diaria de cafeína. Al poco tiempo comencé a sentir los efectos de la abstinencia, pasaba casi todas las mañanas con fuertes dolores de cabeza y náuseas. Lo peor era que no tenía idea del motivo de ese malestar. Así pasé como unos cuatro meses y al final los síntomas desaparecieron.

Esa experiencia temprana con la adicción me marcó y me hizo tomar conciencia de lo importante que era mantenerse en control, desde entonces he librado una dura lucha por tratar de no ser dependiente de ninguna sustancia o situación. A veces he tenido éxito y otras no tanto.

addict2713526_550.jpg

Con las comidas y bebidas no he creado hábitos de adicción, me gustan muchos los dulces y el chocolate, pero si los tengo los disfruto y si no, pues no pasa nada. Igual sucede con el café o el alcohol. Si me brindan una taza de café la tomo con gusto, al igual que una cerveza, pero si no las hay, no se va a caer el mundo por eso.

Con mis emociones el asunto sí ha sido más difícil. He tenido que lidiar toda la vida con una tendencia a preocuparme demás, a magnificar los problemas, y a dejar que esos pensamientos me ocupen el espacio mental. Como resultado de ese comportamiento he sentido momentos de gran cansancio y agotamiento.

Gracias a recomendaciones de amigos fui tomando contacto con el yoga y la meditación, con esas dos actividades he logrado que las preocupaciones no se apoderen de mí. Les mentiría si les dijera que no tengo episodios donde me siento angustiado por cualquier problema cotidiano, pero lo importante es que me doy cuenta a tiempo y me pongo con las actividades que me logran despejar la mente, oigo música, camino, medito, hago algún estiramiento muscular, y paso a paso la angustia va desapareciendo.

man2181478_550.jpg

Conozco dos casos de personas muy cercanas donde he podido ver el efecto de las adicciones. Una es mi esposa, ella tiene un gran problema de adicción con el cigarrillo. No hay forma que lo deje, hace lo posible por bajar el consumo, pero no puede dejar de fumar. Esa dependencia de ella nos crea una gran dificultad económica. Con el dinero que gasta en cigarrillos pudiéramos comprar mejores alimentos, pero no hay modo, ella puede dejar de comer pero no de fumar.

El otro caso que conozco es el de una vecina. Su hijo es adicto a la cocaína. Para mantener el vicio el muchacho ha llegado al extremo de venderle todos sus electrodomésticos, televisores, radios, licuadoras, todo lo que ha podido. En varias ocasiones ha logrado internarlo en centros de rehabilitación para adictos, pero hasta ahora nada ha dado resultado. La vida de ella con ese hijo adicto es un infierno.

Creo que la posibilidad de que caigamos en alguna adicción tiene mucho que ver con la forma en que hayamos logrado desarrollar nuestra personalidad. Hay personas que por diferentes motivos son fácilmente manipulables por el entorno, ceden a la presión de los grupos, y paso a paso van desarrollando adicciones. Siempre hay que mantenerse muy alerta con todo aquello que nos haga perder el control. Nadie puede decir que está a salvo de poder convertirse en un adicto.

Esta es mi entrada para el desafío propuesto por @ecotrain, en esta semana nos invitaron a compartir nuestras opiniones sobre las adicciones. Para conocer las bases pincha en este enlace

Gracias por tu tiempo.

Fuente de imágenes I II III IV

separador verde.jpg

Todos tus comentarios son bienvenidos en este sitio. Los leeré con gusto y dedicación.

Hasta una próxima entrega. Gracias.


MARCA LIBRO POSTALdef-sombra-m.jpg

Las fotos, la edición digital y los Gifs son de mi autoría.


separador verde.jpg

logohivevenezuela200.png




H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments
Ecency