ECOTRAIN PSYCHEDELIC SALAD - BEETROOT SALAD WITH HONEY BALSAMIC DRESSING

pschedelic_salad.png

This MEDICINAL COOKING COMPETITION WEEK 2 has been on my mind since last week. Even though I have been quite busy during this time, but as soon as I saw the content of this contest posted, I reminded myself that I definitely can't miss it. The weather these days is quite hot plus my husband is on a diet so salad is a perfect choice for an evening meal. I had several salad ideas in my head, but my husband suggested making something related to beetroot because there was still a bag of beetroot left in the fridge which I bought a week ago. You may think I am a big fan of beetroot because in the last competition, my soup also contained some beetroot as a main ingredient. Actually not really, I like the color of beetroot and its health benefits but don't eat it very often. Beetroot is a vegetable that contains a variety of vitamins A, C, and folic acid. This is one of the great foods that bring many benefits to the body such as reducing the risk of heart attack, reducing fatigue. It's also my first time making this salad. Just simply throw all in a dish. I didn't expect much but the final result came out pretty nice.
Even though beetroot is the star of the dish, the salad can't be completed without other ingredients. When I started mixing the veggies, I thought, oh no, maybe I didn't get the theme right, the competition is about colorful salads but my dish only has 2 colors, red purple from beetroot and green from spinach, rocket, cucumber. But as soon as I added feta cheese and walnuts in the last step, the dish was enhanced, its result was very eye-catching. This is a salad that has the right balance of flavour, simplicity, texture, and beauty while being simple enough for anyone to prepare.

Let's get start!!!

WHAT DO YOU NEED

Ingredients
250g canned baby beetroot: as a golden ingredient in many dishes, beetroot has the good effect of regulating blood pressure, supplementing blood, strengthening the immune system

150g of rocket: rocket or known as arugula provides many of the same benefits as other vegetables of the same family, which include broccoli, kale, and Brussels sprouts. It has protective effects on the heart, help reduce risk of developing type 2 diabetes, prevent osteoporosis, reduce cancer risk. source

50g baby spinach: same as rocket, spinach is a nutritious, leafy green, also add some benefits for the bone health and skin.

50g cucumber: Even though cucumbers are commonly referred to as vegetables, they are actually fruits. Several important nutrients are found in it, as well as certain antioxidants and plant compounds that may help treat and even prevent some conditions. Personally, I think cucumber is the perfect mask for my skin during the hot days.

3tbsp walnuts: Walnuts are significantly higher in omega-3 fat than any other nut, effectively support weight control, during my diet last year, I replace most of the meat by walnuts and had lost 3kg within a month.

20g feta cheese: Traditional Greek feta cheese is made from sheep or goat milk. Feta cheese has few calories than any other cheese but contains more calcium which helps maintain healthy teeth and bones.
img_9243.jpg

Dressing
2 1/2 tbsp olive oil
1 tbsp balsamic vinegar
1 tbsp honey
1/2 tbsp salt
Pepper
img_9244.jpg

HOW TO MAKE
img_9245.jpg

img_9246.jpg

img_9247.jpg

img_9248.jpg

Easy peasy!!!!!!!!!!!
Well, your 3 years old daughter can even do this. Just simply cut the beetroot, cucumber and cheese in the square shape and mix all of the ingredients together. Then mix with the dressing and put them all in a bowl. You will have a beautiful salad! !2021_11_08_11_55_58_988.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency