Wood Splitting and Burgers - Friday

The sun was out yesterday for a change and I was able to get the rest of the pile of logs and split them all and stacked the pieces. I started on it on Thursday and quickly found out how out of shape I am. I was pretty sore from it but with the sun out yesterday I knew it was my chance to get it done. It took me a few hours of off and on splitting as I took care of other tasks around the house.
IMG_20210122_124943.jpg

I got all the rounds split and then stacked all the wood into the pile. I increased our wood stores by about 1/3 and still have the Ponderosa pine rounds that our friends brought us to split. Those are a bit greener so will likely have to get stacked and split once it has dried some this spring/summer.

IMG_20210122_144134.jpg

It is a bit of a pain to be piling the wood on this way in that I have varying types and qualities of wood in the pile. These rounds that I just split are all super good dry wood that is seasoned and ready to burn now. Some of the wood earlier in the stack is not nearly as good and is a bit rotten in places. One of the trees I took down a couple years ago is still in the pile and I can see the pieces easily since they have the holey rotten look to them. But there is not much I can do about it other than burn the wood now because I am NOT restacking the pile just to pull some pieces out.

IMG_20210122_150118.jpg

For dinner I pulled out some ground beef and made up burgers for the boys and myself. I had been looking at getting food from our close by restaurant but as I looked at the menu I realized I should just do it myself. I had a fire going in the pit outside but it did not get going soon enough for me to grill so I used the stove instead but they still came out great.

IMG_20210122_175014.jpg
IMG_20210122_180300.jpg

@stryeyz comes home today finally and we pick her up this evening at the airport. I want to get the next load in the freeze dryer, we're going to clean up in the house, I have wood rounds to move, and UFC 247 is on this evening which should be really good.


300x600-2
^Affiliate/Referral Link^


Play Rabona the new soccer manager game on Hive!
https://rabona.io?ref=flemingfarm
Signup With my Link and we BOTH get 25K RBN

For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, following, and sharing!


FFF Runic.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency