Roofing Order, Log Splitting and Moving, Raking, Soaking - Tuesday

I finally got my ass in gear and got the order for the roofing put in. Our old studio's roof has been steadily deteriorating since we have owned the property and it is to the point where it likely won't make it through another winter. I had made a general materials list a few weeks ago and after rummaging online for availabilities I settled on Home Depot. Ziggy's has the materials but they would have been $200+ more expensive than Home Depot just for the metal roofing.

IMG_20210921_064207.jpg

After our morning soak I got myself out and got the measurements for the building. I climbed up the ladder and scoped the attic from the end to see if the rafters looked like they were still in decent shape. I would have had to order a bunch of 10ft 2x4 if they weren't. I will be fixing cross members to the rafters though to increase the strength of the roof.

My order has the metal roofing but I got 12 foot instead of 10 foot since Home Depot only had those. The roof needs 10 foot panels so I will be cutting 2 feet off each of the 20 pieces of roofing. Luckily I have my electric metal cutting shears that I used on the other studio siding. Ziggy's is $47.50/10 ft and Home Depot is $39/12 ft, so $8.50 cheaper per piece and I get 2 feet more. The 8 ft pieces are $9 cheaper per piece. I also got a big stack of OSB sheets that are now down to $14.50/sheet for 7/16x4x8.

My order doesn't deliver until the 30th so I REALLY REALLY REALLY hope the weather holds so I can get the project done in the dry.

IMG_20210921_104427.jpg

A couple of my sunflowers are ready-ish. This is the larger of the 2 that the alpaca had NOT eaten on. I have to cut the water to them in hopes they ripen.

IMG_20210921_125054.jpg

Back on the logs I had to move the bull pine so I carried a 12 foot pallet in from by the sheep pen and dropped it by the rock wall. I moved all the bull pine rounds over and stacked them but with easy access so I can split them for outdoor fires. The stuff is really pitchy and the grain is really twisted.

IMG_20210921_130113.jpg
IMG_20210921_131735.jpg

It emptied off the rest of the split wood pallets so I now have room to stack the good wood. I ended up splitting about 15 more rounds during the day mainly due to the moving of the other rounds. I was pretty sore by the time our evening soak happened.

IMG_20210921_131740.jpg

I spent 15 minutes or so sharpening a pair of my chainsaw chains on the bench sharpener. It really is nice how fast and how precise the bench sharpener is. It is about 5 to 7 minutes per chain and the teeth come out super sharp. It's always good to have spare sharpened chains sitting in case.

IMG_20210921_155359.jpg

The recent storms brought winds that emptied the pine trees of the dead needles they had collected during the super dry summer. The road and the entrance of our driveway were coated in a thick layer and when I went out yesterday in my truck I slid all over the place. So in the interest of safety I raked all the needles off the road and the end of the driveway. I have acres of pine needles if I want to collect them to use for mulch but the stuff on the road had been driven on and broken down a bunch. I just raked it all to the side of the road.

IMG_20210921_161048.jpg
IMG_20210921_161055.jpg

Our dinner was stuffed bell peppers from our garden with the local ground beef. This dude was one of the peppers and it looks like the Vogon from Hitchhiker's Guide To The Galaxy BBC version (see below).

29379.jpeg

Vogon_jelzt_reading_poetry.jpg
Source

The evening ended like always in the tub. The Theracane is my good buddy now and is helping keep the back in semi working order. All the splitting has my right side of my back pretty tight so i need to start splitting with the other hand as primary for a while.

IMG_20210921_184232.jpg

Today I am picking summer squash as it's been a couple of days and there looks to be a fair amount, I need to cut the hops plants down for harvest, split and stack more wood, cut the water to the sunflowers, and get the peppers in the freeze dryer. We might go to scouts this evening, I am not sure yet until the boys wake up and I see how they are feeling.


300x600-2
^Affiliate/Referral Link^


Play Rabona the new soccer manager game on Hive!
https://rabona.io?ref=flemingfarm
Signup With my Link and we BOTH get 25K RBN

For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, following, and sharing!

Donations or Tips

Bitcoin : 1C6idTJBJ3CJJt9kHoKi4av1XLzg8eQ7rv


FFF Runic.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency