Resting My Sore Back - Sunday

I got out and was picking the squash for the day and part way through my back started to seriously hurt. By the time I was done I had 28 pounds of squash but could hardly move and I gimped my way back to the house. After a bit of massage on the huge knot on my right shoulder I laid on the bed for a while and let the TENS unit do its job. After the half hour of electrical stimulation I was able to move a better. It took a muscle relaxer before the sharp pain subsided more. The center of my back, around the spine mid level, is what still hurts now and I am going to have to sit with the TENS again this morning after I pick to try and work out the pain around my spine.

IMG_20210725_095721.jpg

I wandered around the farm gently the rest of the day. I checked out the various chokecherry bushes that are starting to ripen but most all of them are tiny berries this year and not full and plump like wetter years. Being that the chokecherry is mostly seed I am trying to decide if I should pick what is ripe anyway despite there not being much meat on them. It may not be worth the effort for the small amount I will get from them.

In the later afternoon we went down to the creek for a while to cool off. The water is staying fairly clear and the algae is not growing as quickly in the pool. Right where the water exits the pool and starts to flow down the smaller stream the algae is growing thick, likely due to the water being warmer where it exits. The pool is definitely cooler than the stream is.

More fires blew up locally again. This time there were 2 fires north of us near the fire from a couple of days ago, one was out quickly while the other turned to nearly 100 acres but is largely contained. The other fire started to the southwest of us just on the northwest side of Spokane and burned our direction. It got to about 70 acres but did no damage to buildings. This is a crazy ass fire season already and we still have 2 full months+ to go.

IMG_20210725_162542.jpg

Today I have to do the daily picking, sit with the TENS unit on my back for a while, fix an irrigation leak in the strawberry row, we are going to town for breakfast with the family, and I need to find somewhere to get rid of a bunch of squash that did not sell this week.


300x600-2
^Affiliate/Referral Link^


Play Rabona the new soccer manager game on Hive!
https://rabona.io?ref=flemingfarm
Signup With my Link and we BOTH get 25K RBN

For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, following, and sharing!

Donations or Tips

Bitcoin : 1C6idTJBJ3CJJt9kHoKi4av1XLzg8eQ7rv


FFF Runic.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency