Rain, Spokane Freedom Exchange, 4000 Pounds Picked - Saturday

After the melee of trying to get the farm ready for it the rains hit and gave us .22 inches of rain. The entire region needs it so badly and nicely this morning the ground is still damp looking and the trees have a much cleaner look to them. It is only a slight dent in what we need but anything helps at this point.

IMG_20210911_063334.jpg

We managed to get ourselves out the door by 9:30 and into Spokane by 10 to setup at the [ark for the exchange. I brought my 3 different seeds, cucumbers, we brought fiber, liberty coin rings, White Rose stickers, and some samples of the beets and melon. It was a great couple hours hanging at the park. We got to see old friends we haven't seen in years, met new people who are part of the freedom movement, and I got to sell some of my seeds and cucumbers. The boys were with us and J spent a good amount of time snagging seed packets from the table to go barter with at the other tables. People can't resist kids learning to barter but he didn't do bad and didn't "underpay" for any of his trades. We stayed until noon before packing up and heading back to the farm.

IMG_20210911_100937.jpg

As I was picking the squash I got to the row by the tomatoes and found myself a bit amazed at the wall of plant that I have. The other side of the tomatoes is a row of kale then the row of cucumbers that makes a pretty nifty corridor between them. Both are over 6 feet tall and really full and heavy.

IMG_20210911_133725.jpg

The squash have filled in the garden so thick they have taken over the nearest row of beans.

IMG_20210911_133731.jpg

After weighing the squash haul for the day of 28 pounds I input the data to my spreadsheet and I have now picked over 4000 pounds from my garden so far this year. I still have a month of the season and hundreds of pounds of produce still in the gardens.

4000th pound.jpg

The totals so far for each. The total other includes the winter squash I just have it broken out to better see it specifically. Last year I sold 2178 pounds of produce and this year I have already sold 2442 pounds with my goal being to pass 3000 pounds sold. I am looking towards maybe picking 5000 pounds this year if everything keeps going long enough. The winter squash still growing will likely be another 400+ pounds.

4000 pounds.JPG

Our afternoon was spent in and out of the spa. On the wall I have our robe hooks now next to the clock and thermometer. I had to fix the mats of the walkway so that the boys have one beneath their robes so they aren't stepping in dirt to get to them. I will have to raise them up a bit for winter but they are in the general spot they will be.

IMG_20210911_172209.jpg

On Friday our new bluetooth speaker arrived and it is super! I am pretty amazed at how good the sound is. We have the tablet hooked up to it and are able to hear over the roar of the jets of the tub. The 10" tablet is perfectly fine for watching stuff as we aren't very far from it at any spot in the tub.

29049.jpeg

Today I have to harvest as per the norm, we'll soak, we need to get the melons into the freeze dryer for another round since we have 39 pounds in the cooler, I have more seeds to bag and tag, and the house needs a good cleaning.


300x600-2
^Affiliate/Referral Link^


Play Rabona the new soccer manager game on Hive!
https://rabona.io?ref=flemingfarm
Signup With my Link and we BOTH get 25K RBN

For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, following, and sharing!

Donations or Tips

Bitcoin : 1C6idTJBJ3CJJt9kHoKi4av1XLzg8eQ7rv


FFF Runic.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency