Irrigation, Weeding, Fire - Friday

The day was a bit funky. I woke up early to see the black clouds moving east and a light sprinkle on the deck before the sun came popping out from behind the storm. The rest of the morning the clouds were rolling past as the system continued to push through. As I headed up to start working on the irrigation in the cool garden I noticed the Pixwell Gooseberries have started to pop. Little berries are growing al over them and should give us a nice harvest this year.

IMG_20210507_125639.jpg

I have been meaning to get to the cool garden irrigation for a while and finally did yesterday. The chives, shallots, and elderberries needed to get on the system so I can stop hand watering. Now that I have the poly pipe clamps it was possible. I ran a line with 1/2 gph emitters spaced every foot down the chives then ran bare lines for the shallots and the elderberries which I then set emitters where needed. This removes another daily chore from my list.

IMG_20210507_134115.jpg
IMG_20210507_134149.jpg

I planted a bunch of Arborvitae by our creek and last year I had a piece of fence over them to protect them from deer. Over the year the grass grew up all around the fence and so a week ago I yanked the fence off the row. Yesterday I went to each Arb and pulled the weeds all around each one to expose it. This way when I go weed eat the area I won't be as likely to hack one down by accident.

IMG_20210507_135807.jpg

You can just barely see them in amongst the mess of grass.

IMG_20210507_135836.jpg

The Crane Flies are out, otherwise known as Mosquito Hawks. I grew up with these things bombing around the local airspace and it is no different all these years later. The silly behemoths have such a variability in their seeming abilities. Some are lithe and able to fly easily while others are like heavily weighted down bombers attempting a take off from a short runway. Lumbering hulks of flying bug attempting to maintain some sort of stable flight. This one was hanging out on the wood pile as I went to build the fire for the day.

IMG_20210507_140917.jpg

The afternoon saw varying amounts of clouds roll through and then the cells would pop off with some small down pours. By the end of the day we had .05" of rain, not a lot but enough to wash the dust out of the air.

IMG_20210507_151525.jpg

After one particularly heavy downpour moved east the sun shone in behind and lit up the freshly washed trees.

I tossed a bunch of sweet potatoes and yams into the oven then cooked us up steaks over the fire for dinner. We went out and covered the squash sprout rows in the garden with row cover for the night and hoped the wind wouldn't take them away. This morning I see one of the covers blew off but the rest seem to be in place. Tonight should be the colder night anyway.

IMG_20210507_175834.jpg

Today is a likely a home day. The day after the storm should prove to be nice and bright, if a bit chilly, but a perfect day to hang out on the farm and enjoy home.


300x600-2
^Affiliate/Referral Link^


Play Rabona the new soccer manager game on Hive!
https://rabona.io?ref=flemingfarm
Signup With my Link and we BOTH get 25K RBN

For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, following, and sharing!

Donations or Tips

Bitcoin : 1C6idTJBJ3CJJt9kHoKi4av1XLzg8eQ7rv


FFF Runic.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency