Harvests, Bagging Beans, Butcher Area Prep - Thursday

A slimmer 22 pounds of squash got put into the cooler yesterday morning. It was in the mid 40s overnight so it felt a bit chilly as I was out picking so actually was wearing a long sleeved shirt. That little dip in temps to remind us that we live in the northern tier.

IMG_20210722_093657.jpg

The sheep and alpaca got a new bale rolled into the pen. I had made them fully finish the last bale before I rolled this one in so as not to allow them to waste any. With the dry year we are having hay is going to be a hot commodity. I have to call my hay guy soon and see if I can get 12 bales to get through another year.

IMG_20210722_111800.jpg

It took a bit of gathering to have all the butcher area bits in the truck to move them across the farm to the coop area.

IMG_20210722_122701.jpg

I have the plucker and scalding pot setup at the corner of the coop and the burner for singeing hair is in the coop door that will stick out to allow access to the flame. I lop heads and hang them to bleed out to the right of the setup. The plucked and singed birds will get hauled to the house for the gutting and final processing.

IMG_20210722_123916.jpg

Mid afternoon I spent time rolling the bean rows to get 6.5 pounds of beans picked. I needed to get at least 5 pounds picked to fill out the orders that I deliver this morning.

IMG_20210722_151519.jpg

With the beans picked I had to bag them all up into 1/2 pound bags as they will be going into the CSA boxes.

It was at this time that my in-laws showed up. @stryeyz and her mother went to town to pickup dinner fixings.

IMG_20210722_161802.jpg

Our friend arrived later around 8 pm and she had her birds in a cage in the van. I had to keep setting up the butcher equipment and the basins all had to be in place under the car port. I have the drain line below that runs out over the edge of the hill.

IMG_20210722_204946.jpg

We tossed all the birds into the pallet hut I made, filled the water, and closed them in for the night.

IMG_20210722_205223.jpg

This morning first thing I drive to the valley to deliver the co-op orders. Before I leave I have to get the scalding pot filled and the heat on it so it might be ready to go by 9 am. The morning will be spent butchering the birds, I have to pick the squash and the other 6 rows of beans, and we will have the in-laws over as my MIL wants to help butcher.


300x600-2
^Affiliate/Referral Link^


Play Rabona the new soccer manager game on Hive!
https://rabona.io?ref=flemingfarm
Signup With my Link and we BOTH get 25K RBN

For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, following, and sharing!

Donations or Tips

Bitcoin : 1C6idTJBJ3CJJt9kHoKi4av1XLzg8eQ7rv


FFF Runic.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency