Daily Harvests, Woodworking, Caging, Feed Run, Brooder Ready - Thursday

Woke up to the smell of smoke in the air from the fires that have exploded around the inland northwest. There are 4 of them to our southwest and west that have been inundating the area with smoke.

IMG_20220804_060854_HDR.jpg

I had to spill over to the second tub for the squash which gave me 26.5 pounds. I will be messaging with procurement to see if I can get the bulk of it gone next week.

IMG_20220804_092319_HDR.jpg

The first stalk of celery got broken from a plant and I shared it with the boys. It is super tasty and even though small in size packs quite the punch of flavor. I look forward to the plants all maturing.

IMG_20220804_100711_HDR.jpg

J has been shown how to use the band saw, the one that was once my grandfather's and saw a lot of use with him and has seen tons of use with myself. J wanted to build a picture frame for his friend for his birthday which the party is today.

IMG_20220804_111829_HDR.jpg

After cutting the four pieces we used the corner clamp which I have had for years and never used before. It worked like a wonder and held the pieces nice and tight and flush. He used the brad nailer to nail the pieces together.

IMG_20220804_113243_HDR.jpg

After noon I went up the hill and got my mile in around the upper pen. I am going to take a rake up so I can work on the fenceline trail since it is not yet really established fully and there is debris all over. I figure if I leave the rake in the pen then every time someone goes for a walk they can do a little more raking of the trail. I will have to cut out some of the saplings as well to clear the trail along the east side.

IMG_20220804_123740_HDR.jpg

The large studio's front porch has been wide open beneath it for years and I have always meant to cover it to keep the birds and animals from getting under it. The chickens have been hiding under a ton and that is now ending.

IMG_20220804_131645_HDR.jpg

The entire thing is now covered wit the plastic fence and last night a lot more of the birds ended up in the coop.

IMG_20220804_132403_HDR.jpg

7 cucumbers were ready, one was a bit bulbous and shorter but still needed to be picked. These made 50 total so far this season and the plants are only getting started.

IMG_20220804_140418_HDR.jpg

The boys and I went to town and we met @stryeyz at Red Robin for dinner. She took the boys shopping for school supplies and shoes while I headed to North 40. There I picked up the food for the turkeys which I picked up this morning. I also got new headlights for my truck as my low beams were out in both, dog food, a new air hose, and a pair of insulated Noble Muds boots for this winter. They are comfortable down to -20F and my buddy swears by his. They are not cheap but they are well worth it when winter comes.

IMG_20220804_181931_HDR.jpg

Once home and unloaded I got the trailer hooked up and the barrels loaded in the bed to help with gas mileage for my grain run and co-op delivery I did this morning.

IMG_20220804_190024_HDR.jpg

The waterer filled and the feeder filled I was all ready for the turkey poults.

IMG_20220804_190239_HDR.jpg

My air compressor currently sits in the small shed by the deck and I have to wheel it to the tool shed if I want to use any air tools. I got a 50 foot air line and with the 20 footer I had already the line makes it into the tool shed so I can finally use the grinder and cut off tool I have.

IMG_20220804_192539_HDR.jpg

Soaked for a while and had to get out once it was dark to get the birds put in which is a serious task right now as they are spread out over a lot of the farm. I carried 8 or 10 of them to the coop and dumped them through the window.

IMG_20220804_202940_PANO.jpg

I have been to get the turkeys and have them in the brooder, then I went to town and picked up barrels of grain before heading across the city to the valley to the co-op for my first drop of of the year of 20 pounds of beans. I have emptied the barrels and now have to go out and pick. This afternoon the boys are going back to town to buy a bday present for J's schoolmates bday party this evening. We have the Azure pickup which I will be doing this evening since she will be with the boys at the party and I am going to try to get myself a burger grilled for dinner.


300x600-2
^Affiliate/Referral Link^


Play Rabona the soccer manager game on Hive!
https://rabona.io?ref=flemingfarm
Signup With my Link and we BOTH get RBN

High Liquidity, NO KYC Exchange


For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, following, and sharing!

Donations or Tips

Bitcoin : 1C6idTJBJ3CJJt9kHoKi4av1XLzg8eQ7rv

Capture.JPG


FFF Runic.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now