"Don't Stand So Close to Me" - ecoTrain Question Of The Week #11 Are You A 'Hugger or A Shrugger'

Digital Hugs in the Age of Coronavirus

This question stood out because it spoke to aspects of my personality that have made me who I am. I'm one of those warm, loving people who started life as a very shy person. The internet in many ways helped me to be more open and forthcoming. I'm not normally much of a hugger. But if I like you, things can be very different. If you're one of those "People of Light" You know, the kind that cares about others and can best be described as an empath, you're on my team.

Now the virus has changed all of that. Since I found out about it in late December 2019, I had a head start when it came to prepping for coronavirus. It gave me an opportunity to start quickly and notice that information from the CDC lagged behind what was happening in China.

I was the first person in my community to see the videos of people collapsing in the streets of Wuhan. I repeatedly warned friends and neighbors to stock up on supplies and PPE when they were readily available. Once I realized no one would listen, it allowed me to make peace with the fact that everyone has to come to the truth in their own way and time.

The people that were laughing at me in Jan/Feb when I was buying supplies, aren't laughing anymore. We've lost hundreds of souls in our county, with over 6,000 deaths in our State. This is not a time for hugging and hanging out without taking precautions. The 'net' is my window to the world and allows me to remain safely connected to everyone.

Luckily, I haven't met anyone who's been infected, nor do I know anyone else who has. My thoughts are that things are going to get very bad due to the rushed re-opening. I fully expect a second wave like the one that made the Spanish Flu so deadly. People are walking around with no masks or gloves (I'm the only one who purchased some) as if everything is back to normal. Hopefully, I'm wrong, but the feeling is that they are in for a rude awakening.

Going back to work too soon will help the spread even more. The need for stimulus checks is obvious. Staying home is paramount to getting through this crisis. Funds should be made available so that those not in a critical industry can ride this out until it's over.

As for me, I don't go anywhere without an N95 facemask, protective gloves and goggles if needed. We shop in the evening when there are fewer people out and about. I stay away from all gatherings of people where possible and spray down everything I purchase.

However, being set apart now allows me more time for reflection. Without the distractions of the life we had before, I can be even more effective in helping others. Every sense in my body tells me that we will get through this. I can't wait for the time when we can look back on all of this from a far brighter future. For now, give somebody a digital hug. :)

Stay safe!

Thank you so much!

Please follow me on:

đź‘ŤTwitter: https://twitter.com/EverNoticeThat
đź‘ŤInstagram: https://www.instagram.com/evernoticethat/
đź‘ŤHive: @evernoticethat

photo credit: 1, 2
video credit: 1


Please check out my recent posts:

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency